The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Pontypridd in the second round of the British & Irish Cup in Sardis Road (KO: 2pm) on Saturday has been named…

Rhys Ruddock has returned to competitive action and the Ireland international wing forward is named in the team for the first time this season.

Leinster enjoyed a fine 47-18 victory over Leeds Carnegie and this week Noel Reid moves to full-back in place of Darren Hudson who injured his shoulder in the last few minutes of Saturday’s game.

John Cooney will partner Cathal Marsh at half-back, with Collie O’Shea continuing his centre partnership with Brendan Macken.

Up front, Ruddock joins Jordan Coghlan and Leo Auva’a in the back-row, while Martin Moore starts at tight-head prop in a front row which features Thomas Sexton and skipper Jack McGrath.


15: Geraint Walsh
14: Lewis I Williams
13: Dafydd Lockyer
12: Gary Williams
11: Matthew Nuthall
10: Dai Flanagan
9: Carl Thomas

1: Stuart Williams
2: Huw Dowden
3: Pat Palmer
4: Craig Locke
5: Chris Dicomidis CAPTAIN
6: Jake Thomas
7: Rhys Shellard
8: Dan Godfrey


16: Joel Raikes
17: Lewis K Williams
18: Gareth Wyatt
19: Darran Harris
20: Tom Hetherington
21: Ed Siggery
22: Keiron Jenkins


15: Noel Reid
14: Andrew Boyle
13: Brendan Macken
12: Collie O’Shea
11: Sam Coghlan-Murray
10: Cathal Marsh
9: John Cooney

1: Jack McGrath CAPTAIN
2: Thomas Sexton
3: Martin Moore
4: Tom Denton
5: Ben Marshall
6: Rhys Ruddock
7: Jordan Coghlan
8: Leo Auva’a


16: James Tracy
17: Jack O’Connell
18: Tadhg Beirne
19: Jack Conan
20: Dave Shanahan
21: Steve Crosbie
22: Tom Daly