Despite losing out last week away to Nottingham, Leinster ‘A’ go into the game against Richmond knowing a bonus point win could be enough to secure a place in the quarter-finals of the British & Irish Cup.

For that to happen Nottingham would have to lose their match away to Scarlets Premiership Select on Saturday (KO 2pm). Leinster ‘A’ would also need one of Yorkshire Carnegie and Cornish Pirates to lose their final pool match as well.

Cornish Pirates are at home to Connacht ‘A’ on Saturday (KO 2pm), while Yorkshire Carnegie face Pool 5 leaders Ealing Trailfinders at the same time.

In the event that a bonus point win is claimed in Donnybrook and other results go their way Leinster ‘A’ would move into a quarter-final spot, with the reward likely to be a trip to face either London Irish or Ealing in the knock-out stages.

Click here to see the full British & Irish Cup standings

There are five changes to the Leinster ‘A’ starting XV from the team that lost 28-24 away to Nottingham last week.

David Aspil comes into the back row to replace Dominic Ryan, with Mick Kearney partnering Ian Nagle in the second row in place of David O’Connor.

Bryan Byrne retains his place in the front row, but will be flanked by Peter Dooley at loosehead and Jeremy Loughman at tighthead against Richmond.

Charlie Rock starts at scrum-half in place of Nick McCarthy, who is named on the bench, in the only change to the Leinster ‘A’ back line.

Leinster ‘A’ face Richmond FC at Donnybrook Stadium on Friday (KO 7.30pm). Tickets will be available on the gate from €10 for adults and €5 for under-18s.

Season Ticket holders can enter for free when they show their 2016/17 Season Ticket card at the gate.

Leinster ‘A’

15. Billy Dardis
14. Hugo Keenan
13. Jimmy O’Brien
12. Tom Daly
11. Barry Daly
10. Cathal Marsh
9. Charlie Rock
1. Peter Dooley
2. Bryan Byrne
3. Jeremy Loughman
4. Mick Kearney
5. Ian Nagle
6. Peadar Timmins CAPTAIN
7. David Aspil
8. Max Deegan


16. Sean McNulty
17. Ed Byrne
18. Oisín Heffernan
19. Paul Boyle
20. Nick McCarthy
21. Ciaran Frawley
22. Jordan Larmour

Leinster v Edinburgh