Leinster Under-19’s and Under-20’s sealed a famous double in Thomond Park on Friday evening when they defeated their Munster counterparts, though the Youths were denied in Galway on Saturday…

The Leinster Under-19 (Club) team, sponsored by PNC Global, defeated Munster 12-6 on Friday evening in Thomond Park.

Lansdowne full-back Ferdia Doherty and UCD’s Andrew Boyle touched down for the visitors, with Trinity captain James O’Donoghue adding a conversion, to kick-start their Interprovincial campaign.

B Sargent kicked two penalties for the hosts.


15. Ferdia Doherty (Lansdowne), 14. Michael McGrath (Clontarf), 13. Andrew Boyle (UCD), 12. Colm O’Shea (Clontarf), 11. Sean Lacey (Castleknock College), 10. James O’Donoghue (Dublin University) CAPTAIN, 9. Peter DuToit (UCD); 1. Eddie Downes (Barnhall), 2. John Sutton (New Ross), 3. Keith Donoghue (CUS), 4. Michael Kearney (Clontarf), 5. Conor McDermott (Dundalk), 6. Richard Liddy (Blackrock), 7. Dylan Greene (Dublin University), 8. Colin Mallon (St. Michael’s College)

REPLACEMENTS: 16: Scott Caldbeck (Tullow), 17: Derek Whiston (Dublin University), 18: Liam Phelan (Kilkenny), 19: Tony Ryan (Enniscorthy), 20: Kevin Ryan (Wanderers), 21: Sam Sutton (Old Belvedere), 22: Gearoid McDonald (Dundalk)

Meanwhile, the Leinster Under-20 team kept their hopes of Interprovincial glory alive with a determined and deserved 26-14 victory over Munster in the second game of Friday night’s double-header.

In all Leinster managed three tries through scrum-half John Cooney as well as late efforts from number eight Richard Bent and the impressive Chris Lilly. Noel Reid kicked a penalty with substitute Brian Kingston adding two conversions on the night.

Munster’s reply came through Richmond centre Michael Kelleher who crossed over with Gareth Quinn-McDonagh kicking two penalties and Cormac O’Flynn adding another penalty.

*Leinster face Connacht in the Under-20 Interprovincial decider in Donnybrook next Friday.


15: Andrew Conway / Gavin Nyawata, 71, 14: Chris Lilly, 13: Brendan Macken, 12: David Lynch, 11: Darren Hudson / Calum Rowden, 53, 10: Noel Reid / Brian Kingston, 26, 9: John Cooney, 1: Jack O’Connell CAPTAIN, 2: David Doyle / Risteard Byrne, 46, 3: Stewart Maguire / Martin Moore, 41, 4: Cathal Deans, 5: Ben Marshall  Michael Cawley, 61, 6: Jordi Murphy, 7: Robin O’Sullivan, 8: Richard Bent


Meanwhile, the Leinster Youths (Under-18) team, sponsored by Nivea for Men, were defeated by Connacht Youths 13-0 in the Sportsground in Galway on Saturday afternoon.

Connacht scored early with a penalty in the third minute and a converted try, followed by a second penalty before the interval but the hosts

Skerries back-row forward Barry Murphy put in a forceful display with skipper Tadhg Furlong leading from the front. Though the visitors had Connacht under huge spells of pressure in the second half and were virtually camped there, the hosts came on to claim a deserved win.

*Leinster Youths face Munster in Donnybrook next Saturday, September 26th (KO: 1pm)


15. Michael Sherlock (Skerries), 14. Kevin McGrath (Skerries), 13. Thomas Daly (Co. Carlow), 12. Akhlaque Khan (Navan) / Finn Green (Greystones), 53, 11. Daniel Pim (Enniscorthy), 10. Robert Holt (Edenderry), 9. Andrew Roberts (Greystones) / Eoin Stynes (Co. Carlow), 58; 1. Kieron Sutherland (Wexford Wanderers) / Eoin Griffen (Naas), 58), 2. Chris Tonge (Skerries), 3. Tadhg Furlong (New Ross) CAPTAIN, 4. Daniel Mannion (Wicklow) / Richard Cronin (Naas), 53), 5. Alan O’Connor (Skerries), 6. Tom McQuirk (Barnhall), 7. Barry Murphy (Skerries), 8. Eoghan Masterson (Portlaoise) / Conor Ryan (Navan), 38

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Jason Byrne (Wicklow), Robert Campbell (Naas)