The Leinster Juniors kicked off their interprovincial campaign with a fine 30-24 victory over Munster in Charleville on Saturday afternoon and they will be looking to build on that win against Connacht in Donnybrook this Saturday (KO: 3pm)…

Declan O’Brien and his coaching staff has brought 19 uncapped players on board for defending champions Leinster this year, and they got their title defence off to a winning start with a six-point defeat of Munster.

Captained by former All-Ireland League player Barry Lynn, Leinster scored three tries in the opening half to take a 25-16 lead by half-time.

Backs Dave Murphy, Gavin Kennedy and Bevan Duffy all crossed the hosts’ whitewash, with Duffy’s Boyne club-mate Brian Croke kicking two conversions and two penalties.

Kilfeacle back rower Ger Luby, who led by example for Munster, grabbed their first half try and Dara Meade from Kanturk added the conversion and three penalties.

Ciaran O’Coilleain, the first player involved at this level from Rugbai Corca Dhuibhne, was a notable inclusion on the Munster bench, while there were two sets of brothers in the matchday squad – Pat and Eoin O’Connor from Junior League champions Cashel and Dermot and Brian O’Sullivan from Tralee.

Replacement Brian O’Sullivan (try) and Meade (penalty) added to Munster’s tally in the second half, but despite a late rally John O’Neill’s side were second best on the night.

A second try from centre Duffy, in the third quarter, gave Leinster enough of a buffer to see out an encouraging bonus point win for a squad that only came together three weeks ago.

In Tuam on Saturday, Connacht also recorded a bonus point success. The westerners, bolstered by players from Ulster Bank League qualifiers Sligo and their close rivals Monivea, had a degree of comfort in a 36-12 win over Ulster.


Saturday, May 7: ULSTER v MUNSTER, Limavady RFC, 2.30pm, LEINSTER v CONNACHT, Donnybrook tbc, 3pm


15: Richie Dunne (Enniscorthy RFC)
14: Brian Howell (Boyne RFC)
13: Bevan Duffy (Boyne RFC)
12: Barry Lynn (Wicklow RFC) CAPTAIN
11: Dave Murphy (Portarlington RFC)
10: Bryan Croke (Boyne RFC)
9: Gavin Kennedy (Ashbourne RFC)

1: Richie Bond (Portlaoise RFC)
2: James Clifford (Monkstown FC)
3: Rob Dempsey (Roscrea RFC)
4: John Southern (Newbridge RFC)
5: Frank Murphy (Tullow RFC)
6: Darrell O’Hora (Newbridge RFC)
7: Karl Roche (Skerries RFC)
8: Barry Hurley (Wicklow RFC)


16: Ger Moore (Cill Dara RFC) for Clifford HT
17: Shane Reilly (Portlaoise RFC) for Bond 65 mins
18: Dave O’Connor (Kilkenny RFC) for O’Hora 65 mins
19: Wayne Kerr (Cill Dara RFC) for Hurley 50 mins
20: Dearan McGrath (Kilkenny RFC) for Kennedy 71 mins
21: Ivan Poole (Enniscorthy RFC) for Croke 71 mins
22: Ross Barbour (Enniscorthy RFC) not used