After this morning’s training in UCD, Leinster Rugby Head Coach Matt O’Connor has announced the Leinster XV for Sunday’s Guinness PRO12 game against the Dragons in Rodney Parade (Kick Off: 4.15pm).

Fergus McFadden hasn’t passed the return to play protocols and will not be involved this weekend and his place is taken by Dave Kearney on the right wing. Zane Kirchner is at full back, Darragh Fanning on the left wing and Kearney on the right form a new back three. In the centre Gordon D’Arcy starts in his 258th appearance for the province alongside Ben Te’o. 

At half back, Eoin Reddan starts at scrum half alongside Jimmy Gopperth. 

In the pack Jack McGrath, Richardt Strauss and Marty Moore start in the front row having come off the bench against Bath last weekend. Ben Marshall comes in for his second start of the campaign with Kane Douglas once again missing out through injury. Mike McCarthy is Marshall’s partner in that second row. 

In the back row, Shane Jennings will captain the side from openside flanker, with Dominic Ryan selected at blindside and Jack Conan at No. 8.

Should he come on, Michael Bent will win his 50th cap for Leinster on Sunday. 


15. Zane Kirchner
14. Dave Kearney
13. Ben Te’o
12. Gordon D’Arcy
11. Darragh Fanning
10. Jimmy Gopperth
9. Eoin Reddan
1. Jack McGrath
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Martin Moore
4. Ben Marshall
5. Mike McCarthy  
6. Dominic Ryan
7. Shane Jennings CAPTAIN 
8. Jack Conan
16. Aaron Dundon
17. Michael Bent
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Ross Molony
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Luke McGrath
22. Noel Reid
23. Luke Fitzgerald
Referee: Marius Mitrea (FIR 39th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Ben Whitehouse, Sean Brickell (both WRU)
Citing Commissioner: Dennis Jones (WRU)
TMO: Derek Bevan (WRU)