Leinster Rugby U-18 Girls 29 Munster Rugby U-18 Girls 22.

A tremendous try by Orla Wafer in the last play of the game gave Leinster the edge in a U18 Girls Development Interprovincial on the 4G pitch at Terenure College on Thursday afternoon.

A host of changes from the weekend win over Ulster reflected the strength in depth available to the Leinster coaches.

There was a reminder of how the gap is narrowing at this level when Munster moved into a 7-0 lead in the fourth minute.

Leinster were able to answer in style, retrieving the kick-off by rucking over the top of Munster for second row Alma Atagamen to dot down in the eighth minute.

This was followed up by a high tackle on Anna Mai O’Brien which handed the ball to the home side and centre Katie Corrigan breached the defence, Abby Healy converting for 12-7 in the 15th minute.

The dazzling footwork of Robyn O’Connor was too much for Munster to handle, the Ireland U18 full-back blazing a trail to the line in the 20th minute.

Munster kept in touch with a penalty and a converted try to level it up at 17-all on the half hour.

There was still time enough for Leinster to reclaim the lead with hooker Kelly Burke leading from the front. Number eight Wafer took the ball on and the excellent Caoimhe McCormack finished in style for 22-17 at the break.

Chances were more difficult to create in the second period as defences managed the pressure better.

Still, Munster were back on terms after a yellow card gave them a one-girl advantage they used to produce  a try two minutes later in the 52nd minute.

It was give and take from there on without neither province able to turn possession into points until the outstanding Wafer broke from the back of a scrum for the decisive try which Healy converted.

Scorers – Leinster – A Atagamen, K Corrigan, R O’Connor, C McCormack, O Wafer try each; A Healy 2 cons.


Leinster: 15. Robyn O’Connor (Wexford Wanderers), 14. Emma Brogan (Navan), 13. Katie Corrigan (Tullow), 12. Caoimhe McCormack (Mullingar), 11. Niamh Murphy (Cill Dara), 10. Abby Healy (Wicklow), 9. Eve Prendergast (Wexford Wanderers), 1. Emma Jane Wilson (Cill Dara), 2. Kelly Burke (Mullingar), 3. Hope Lowney (Barnhall), 4. Anna Mai O’Brien (Mullingar), 5. Alma Atagamen (Balbriggan), 6. Georgia Young (Mullingar), 7. Orla McDonald (Portarlington), 8. Orla Wafer (Enniscorthy).

Replacements: 16. Bronagh Boggan (Wexford Wanderers), 17. Emma Counihan (Barnhall), 18. Melissa Quirke (Wexford Wanderers), 19. Ellen Dunne (Athy), 20. Ciara Short (Wicklow), 21. Julie Nolan (Athy), 22. Amy Rushton (Portarlington), 23. Clara Dunne (Wicklow).

Munster: 15. Fia Whelan (Killorglin / Killarney), 14. Lyndsay Clarke (Ennis), 13. Caitriona Finn (UL Bohemian / Ballina-Killaloe), 12. Gráinne Burke (Ennis), 11. Órna Moynihan (Ennis), 10. Megan Crilly (Dolphin), 9. Rebecca Rogers (Ballina-Killaloe), 1. Lily Morris (Bantry Bay), 2. Emma Dunican (Tralee), 3. Tuathla Ryan (Ballina-Killaloe), 4. Amelia Greene (Carrick-on-Suir), 5. Aoibheann McGrath (Dungarvan), 6. Saskia Wycherley (Bantry Bay), 7. Clodagh O’Keeffe (Ballincollig), 8. Beth Buttimer (Fethard).

Replacements: 16. Ava O’Malley (Killarney), 17. Sofia Carty (Dolphin RFC), 18. Ella Buckley (Kanturk RFC / Ballincollig), 19. Sadie Murphy (Ballincollig), 20. Aoife Grimes (Shannon), 21. Grace Dillon (Shannon), 22. Katie Hehir (Shannon), 23. Siobhan O’Callaghan (Ballincollig).