The Leinster Schools (Under-18) team, sponsored by BNY Mellon, secured an impressive 37-13 victory over Ulster on Wednesday afternoon in Donnybrook…

Leinster began strongly and raced into a 4th minute lead when number eight Luke Satchwell touched down. Ulster responded with a penalty from the boot of out-half Stuart Olding after 19 minutes before the home advantage was extended to 12-3 on the half hour mark through Castleknock Michael Mellett’s try, which was converted by Steve Crosbie.

Two minutes later Blackrock College centre Conor McEllin touched down for the hosts to make it 17-3 at the interval.

Ulster started the second half strongly and in the 40th minute Benjamin Alexander crashed over, with Olding the points, to cut Leinster’s lead to two points. St. Michael’s inside centre Rory Kavanagh soon got his name amongst the try scorers.

Though Olding would add his second penalty of the game in the 53rd minute, his effort was levelled by Crosbie and Leinster stretched their commanding lead through a Mark Roche try, converted by St. Gerard’s out-half Crosbie, on the stroke of full-time to round off an impressive victory.

LEINSTER SCORERS: L. Satchwell, M. Mellett, C. McEllin, M. Roche, R. Kavanagh (1 try each), S. Crosbie (2 penalties, 3 conversions)

ULSTER SCORERS: B. Alexander (1 try), S. Olding (2 penalties, 1 conversion)

LEINSTER SCHOOLS: 15: Jack Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga College SJ), 14: Michael Mellett (Castleknock College) / Ben Howard (CBC Monkstown), 13: Conor McEllin (Blackrock College), 12: Rory Kavanagh (St. Michael’s College), 11: Mark Roche (Blackrock College), 10: Steve Crosbie (St. Gerard’s School), 9: Luke McGrath (St. Michael’s College) CAPTAIN / David Shanahan (Belvedere College SJ); 1: Edward Byrne (Clongowes Wood College SJ), 2: Andrew Murphy (St. Michael’s College) / Bryan Byrne (Clongowes Wood College SJ), 3: Adam Boland (Blackrock College), 4: Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College), 5: Gavin Thornbury (Blackrock College), 6: Conor Kilcoyne (Blackrock College), 7: Dan Leavy (St. Michael’s College) / Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College), 8: Luke Satchwell (The King’s Hospital)

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Ken Murphy (Pres. Bray), John Conroy (Belvedere College SJ), Mark Rogers (CBC Monkstown)

ULSTER SCHOOLS: 15: Rory Scholes (Campbell College), 14: Marc Best (Campbell College), 13: Ryan Martin (Methodist College), 12: Christopher Farrell (Campbell College), 11: Neil Burns (Foyle and Londonderry College), 10: Stuart Olding (Belfast Royal Academy), 9: John Creighton (Campbell College); 1: Sam McNabney (Ballymena Academy), 2: John Andrew (Ballymena Academy), 3: James Harrison (Methodist College), 4: Jaz Andress (Methodist College), 5: Jack Cooke (Campbell College), 6: Tom Burns (Foyle and Londonderry College), 7: Jan-Francois Bester (Campbell College), 8: Benjamin Alexander Royal (Belfast Academical Institution)

REPLACEMENTS: Stephen Best (Coleraine Academical Institution), Oliver McCollum (Methodist College), Christopher Taylor (Wallace High School), John Donnan (Down High School), Stuart Hooks (Royal School Armagh), Robbie Magowan (Royal School Armagh), Glenn Baillie (Campbell College)