The Leinster Under-18 Schools team, sponsored by Newstalk, stayed on course to retain their interprovincial championship with a 30-14 victory over Ulster at Belfast Harlequins RFC on Saturday…

A lightening start had the home side in a spin as centre Matthew Gilsenan slotted a third minute penalty before right wing Con Callan continued his impressive strike rate with their first try, converted by Gilsenan in the eighth minute.

From there, Leinster continued to dominate the ball. Ulster were restricted to a single shot at goal as fly-half Jimmy O’Brien and flanker Charlie Cregan added unconverted tries in the 29th minutes for 20-0 at the break.

This stroll in the sunshine was soon turned into a real challenge as Ulster reeled off two seven pointers from centre Andrew Magrath and replacement Mark Adair, both converted by wing Robert Lyttle in the 37th and 57th minutes. It was far from finished.

It took some time. But, Leinster eventually recovered their composure for replacement Max Deegan to strike for their fourth and decisive try.

At Belfast Harlequins RFC – ULSTER SCHOOLS 14 (A Magrath, M Adair try each; R Lyttle ); LEINSTER SCHOOLS 30 (C Callan, J O’Brien, C Cregan, M Deegan try each; M Gilsenan pen, 2 cons; T Whittle pen)


15: Jack Power (Blackrock) / James Lappin (Clongowes Wood) 20 mins
14: Con Callan (St Gerard’s)
13: Colm Mulcahy (Clongowes Wood)
12: Matthew Gilsenan (St Michael’s)
11: Tim Carroll (Cistercian Roscrea)
10: Jimmy O’Brien (Newbridge) / Tommy Whittle (St Gerards’) 70 mins
9: David Duggan (St Michael’s)

1: Eoghan Byrne (Gonzaga)
2: Jonny Molony (Clongowes Wood) / Hugo Keane (Blackrock) 75 mins
3: Sean O’Hare (Castleknock) / James Bollard (St Michael’s) 60 mins
4: Rob Lalor (Terenure) / Michael Melia (Terenure) 57 mins
5: James Ryan (St Michael’s College) CAPTAIN
6: Charlie Cregan (St Michael’s)
7: Will Connors (Clongowes Wood)
8: Greg Jones (St Andrew’s) / Max Deegan (St Michael’s) 57 mins