Patrician Secondary Schools senior rugby team achieve an historic win over Ratoath in the Leinster Senior Development Shield semi-final at Newbridge RFC….

PBS 31 Ratoath 14

From the whistle the Patricians of Newbridge dominated possession and with a solid pack worked their way inside the oppositions 22. This paved the way for the first try for man of the match Niall Crowe (winger) when the ball was played wide and he finished off a well worked move in the corner.

Shortly after the Patricians had their second score on the board when again Niall Crowe received quick ball off the base a ruck and dived over for his second try of the game. Credit then to Ratoath who fought their way back into the game and consistently asked questions of the Patricians defence right up until half time. (Half time score 10-0).

The start of the second half again saw Patricians taking the game to Ratoath, when Jordan Hobbs (No.10) broke through the middle and scored a well worked try. Adam O’Brien (No.13) kicked the conversion which extended the Patricians lead to 17-0. Lesser teams would have folded at this stage but credit to Ratoath for maintaining their competitiveness because it lead to their first try of the game, with a solid pack working their way over from five metres out. A few minutes later they were in for their second, bringing the game to 17-14.

Momentum had swung in favour of Ratoath but Patricians dug hard and when Niall Crowe received the ball just inside his own half he produced the try of the game with a magnificent solo effort. Five minutes from the end centre Gary Maguire (No.12) again extend Patricians lead by bursting through the middle to score under the posts and Adam O’Brien converted the extra two points. The final score was Patricians 31, Ratoath 14.

The Patricians now await the winners of the other semi-final with dates and venues to be announced.

The PBS Team:  P. Lawlor, P. Donnelly, T. Byrne, E. Brannock, A. Bingham, S. Behan, B. Kelly, M. Dempsey, C. Scanlon, J. Hobbs, N. Crowe, G. Maguire, A. O’Brien, D. Hobbs, D Randles, P. McNamara, J. Kiernan, C. Barrett, S. Creighton, T. Ryan