The Leinster Under-19 team, sponsored by SWORD Security, was second best to Munster 28-15 in Saturday’s second game of the Inter-provincial series at Musgrave Park…

The Leinster boys could not get into gear in the first quarter. They slipped 6-0 behind in ten minutes and were always playing catch-up from there on

There were periods of quality play, resulting in tries for replacements Mark Sutton and Conor Oliver. But, it was far too little, too late.

Team Manager Neil Ferguson said: We never played our game. Munster were very physical up front. We kicked the ball to them and they capitalised on our mistakes.

“We have to regroup from here. We have two training sessions during the week before our last match against Ulster next Saturday in Donnybrook”.

At Musgrave Park – MUNSTER 28 (F Bradshaw-Ryan, S McAuliffe, B Kilkenny try each; T Quinlan 2 pens, con; D Horgan pen, con); LEINSTER 15 (M Sutton, C Oliver try each; J Carbery pen; F Cleary con)

Munster: Stephen Fitzgerald (Ard Scoil Rís); Shane McAuliffe (CBC), Stephen McMahon (Captain) (Rockwell College), JJ O’Neill (Crescent College Comp.), Brion Moriarity (Ard Scoil Rís); Tomas Quinlan (CBC), Jack Cullen (Munster Academy); Liam O’Connor (CBC), Sean McNulty (Rockwell College), Michael O’Donnell (Crescent College Comp.); Jonathon Keane (Crescent College Comp.), Frank Bradshaw Ryan (Ard Scoil Rís); Jack Boland (Glenstal Abbey School), Luke O’Leary (Sunday’s Well), Ben Kilkenny (St. Munchin’s College)

Replacements: Jack O’Halloran (Ard Scoil Rís), Denis O’Connell (Rockwell College), Brendan Quinlan (Rockwell College), Darragh Power (Waterpark), Cormac Blake (Crescent College Comp.), David O’Mahony (Rockwell College), Dylan Horgan (Highfield), Eoin O’Carroll (Tralee).


15: Robert Vallejo (New Ross RFC) / Andy Marks (Gonzaga College) 36 mins
14: Cian O’Donoghue (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
13: Cormac Brennan (C.C. Roscrea)
12: Michael Courtney (C.B.C. Monkstown) / Mark Sutton (Newbridge College) 44 mins
11: Cillian Burke (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
10: Fergal Cleary (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
9: Joey Carbury (Blackrock College) / Tim Schmidt (Terenure College) / 44 mins

1: Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College)
2: Andy Roche (Terenure College) / Liam Walshe (Wicklow RFC) 46 mins
3: Hugh O’Donnell (Newbridge College) / Ntinga Mpiko (The King’s Hospital) 14 mins / Eric O’Sullivan (Templeogue College) 46 mins
4: Jack Dwan (Blackrock College)
5: Collie Joyce-Ahearne (Wexford Wanderers) / Andy Purcell (Mullingar RFC) 46 mins
6: James Doyle (Belvedere College SJ) / Conor Oliver (Skerries RFC) 36 mins
7: Patrick Thornton (Terenure College)
8: Nick Timoney (Blackrock College) CAPTAIN