The Leinster Under-19 team, sponsored by SWORD Security, eclipsed Connacht three tries-to-one to win 21-7 in Saturday’s opening game of the Interprovincial series at Templeville Road…

The Westerners put up string resistance as they battled it out up front, Leinster only holding an 11-7 half-time lead through a try by full-back Robert Vallejo and two penalties by scrum-half Joey Carbery.

The home side began to take over as the game wore on. Replacement fly-half Mark Sutton and tight-head prop Hugh O’Donnell, both from Newbridge College, broke through for the second and third tries


15: Robert Vallejo (New Ross RFC)
14: Cian O’Donoghue (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
13: Cormac Brennan (C.C. Roscrea)
12: Michael Courtney (C.B.C. Monkstown)
11: Cillian Burke (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
10: Fergal Cleary (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
9: Joey Carbery (Blackrock College)

1: Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College)
2: Andy Roche (Terenure College)
3: Hugh O’Donnell (Newbridge College)
4: Jack Dwan (Blackrock College)
5: Collie Joyce-Ahearne (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
6: James Doyle (Belvedere College SJ)
7: Patrick Thornton (Terenure College)
8: Nick Timoney (Blackrock College) CAPTAIN


16: Liam Walshe (Wicklow RFC)
17: Jonathan Phelan (Newbridge College)
18: Eric O’Sullivan (Templeogue College)
19: Alex Penny (St. Michael’s College)
20: Conor Oliver (Skerries RFC)
21: Andy Purcell (Mullingar RFC)
22: Tim Schmidt (Terenure College)
23: Mark Sutton (Newbridge College)
24: James Nolan (Gorey RFC)