The Leinster Rugby U18 Girls kicked off the first of the IRFU 7s Interprovincial blitz days in Mullingar RFC last weekend.

Leinster started strong and settled quickly into the game to take a 12-0 lead against Munster. The second half saw Leinster add three more tries and see out the game to win 29-0.

Next up on the day was Connacht and with the conditions deteriorating the Westerners took the game to Leinster with a very direct and aggressive style.

Leinster did well to soak up the early pressure and a breakaway try from Anna Doyle saw them lead 7-0 at the half.

Leinster were quick out of the blocks after the half-time break and stretched their lead to 12-0 before Connacht pressure gave them a well-deserved try.

However, the last play of the game saw Leinster’s Jane Waters finish off a slick passing move to make it 17-5 on the final whistle.

The final game of the day was against Ulster. As the rain had cleared this allowed Leinster to play some excellent sevens rugby and show their skills, running out convincing winners 38-5. Anna Doyle, Megan Burns and Meabh Scally all grabbed a try each with Burns kicking four conversions.

The second and final day of this year’s Interprovincial games will be held in Westmanstown RFC this Saturday, 14th April, with the fixtures and kick-off times below.

Leinster Rugby U18 Girls’ Interprovincial 7s – Garda/Westmanstown RFC – Saturday, 14th April:

Leinster v Ulster (12.30pm)

Connacht v Munster (12.50pm)

Ulster v Connacht (1.40pm)

Munster v Leinster (2pm)

Leinster v Connacht (2.50pm)

Ulster v Munster (3.10pm)

Leinster Rugby U18 Girls’ Interprovincial 7s Squad:

Megan Burns (Tullamore RFC)
Katelyn Doran (PortDarra)
Anna Doyle (Tullow RFC)
Ciara Faulkner (Mullingar RFC)
Molly Fitzgerald (Navan RFC)
Nikki Gibson (Garda/Westmanstown RFC)
Niamh Hickey (Tullamore RFC)
Aoife McGrath (Tullow RFC)
Ellie McKeever (Naas RFC)
Alex McNeil (Tullow RFC)
Ellie Meade (Ardee RFC)
Tess Meade (Ardee RFC)
Meabh Scally (Mullingar RFC)
Jane Waters (Tullamore RFC)