Leinster Schools won their first competitive game this year, beating Cardiff Blues Under-18 27-11 in Rumney Rugby Club, Cardiff on Sunday afternoon…

In a stop-start game, frequently punctuated by the referee’s whistle, the Leinster pack, who dominated the lineouts, slowly gained control.

Handling errors, offsides and transgressions at the breakdown were a feature of the game. When Leinster moved the game into multi-phases they broke up the Cardiff defence. Edward Byrne opened the scoring on 26 mins with a well taken try which was converted by Steve Crosbie, who also added a penalty after 32 mins. A second try by winger Mark Roche gave Leinster Schools a 15 to 6 half time lead, following two kicked penalties by Cardiff.

Leinster extended their lead after 22 mins of the second half, when substitute Andrew Murphy finished off a flowing movement for the try of the game, following a great break by Jack O’Neill and swift transference of the ball through several pairs of hands. This was converted by Steve Crosbie from the left hand touchline. Rory Kavanagh completed the 4 try haul on 28 mins when he dotted down wide on the left following swift interplay between the Leinster forwards and backs. Cardiff scored a consolation try at the death to leave the final scoreline of 27 – 11.

Leinster School Under-18s open their Interprovincial campaign on Wednesday, 8th September when they play Connacht Schools in Donnybrook.


15: Jack Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga College SJ), 14: Michael Mellett (Castleknock College), 13: Conor McEllin (Blackrock College), 12: Rory Kavanagh (St. Michael’s College), 11: Mark Roche (Blackrock College), 10: Steve Crosbie (St. Gerard’s School), 9: Luke McGrath (St. Michael’s College) CAPTAIN; 1: Ken Murphy (Pres. Bray), 2: Edward Byrne (Clongowes Wood College SJ), 3: Adam Boland (Blackrock College), 4: Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College), 5: Gavin Thornbury (Blackrock College), 6: Conor Kilcoyne (Blackrock College), 7: Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College), 8: Luke Satchwell (The King’s Hospital)

REPLACEMENTS: Andrew Murphy (St. Michael’s College) for Luke Satchwell. John Conroy (Belvedere College SJ) for Adam Boland, Colin Grant (Newbridge College) for Ken Murphy, Conor Owende for 2, Ben Howard (CBC Monkstown) for Michael Mellett, Mark Rogers (CBC Monkstown) for Steve Crosbie, David Shanahan (Belvedere College SJ) for Luke Murphy


Lorcan Balfe: Manager
Ray McIlreavy: Coach
Andy Wood: Assistant Coach
John Bagnall: Technical Assistant
Ossie Fogarty: Medical Officer
Sinead Sweeney: Physiotherapist