The Leinster Under-20’s, sponsored by SWORD Security, were cruelly denied a deserved victory against Leicester Academy when they fell to a 32-30 defeat in the Oval Grounds, Leicester on Friday afternoon…Leinster Under-19’s denied…

Despite holding an advantage for most of what was an impressive display, a converted penalty try on the stroke of full time and a drop goal in the seventh minute of injury time denied the province a victory ahead of the start of the Under-20 interprovincial series.

Cathal Marsh kicked the visitors into a third minute lead with a penalty and left wing Andrew Boyle’s well worked try after 18 minutes gave Leinster the impetus to launch a strong end to the first half which resulted in tries for Sam Coghlan Murray (30) – which was converted by Marsh – and Michael Sherlock (39).

Marsh chipped in with another penalty and Leinster maintained their stranglehold into the second half and their dominance was rewarded with their fourth try through Colm O’Shea after 47 minutes. But a resurgence by Leicester led to a spell of forward pressure which resulted in a series of penalties late on. Though there was disappointment for Leinster at the final whistle, overall it was an impressive performance ahead of the start of the interprovincial series next weekend.

*Leinster Under-20’s kick off their defence of the Interprovincial title against Connacht in the Sportsground, Galway next Friday, 3rd September (KO: 5pm).

LEINSTER UNDER-20: 15: Michael Sherlock, 14: Sam Coghlan Murray, 13: Alex Kelly, 12: Colm O’Shea, 11: Andrew Boyle, 10: Cathal Marsh, 9: Peter Du Toit (Aaron Sheehan, 59); 1: Shane Lynch, 2: David Doyle (Peter Reilly, 61), 3: Martin Moore CAPTAIN (Scott Caldbeck, 74), 4: Michael Kearney, 5: Robert Hynes, 6: Eoin Joyce, 7: Paddy Dix, 8: Mark Fallon

Meanwhile, the SWORD Security sponsored Leinster Under-19’s fell to a 32-17 to their Northampton Saints counterparts in Friday evening’s friendly at Franklin’s Gardens. Ferdia Kenny scored two tries, with Stephen Murphy adding the third effort converted by Peter Lydon as the province builds up for their interprovincial opener away to Munster on Saturday, 11th September.


15: Garret O’Suilleabhain (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
14: Mark Corballis (St. Michael’s College)
13: Stephen Murphy (Gonzaga College SJ)
12: James Kearns (CBC Monkstown)
11: Ferdia Kenny (Pres. Bray)
10: Peter Lydon (Kilkenny College)
9: Marcus Walsh (Blackrock College)

1: Des Merrey (Kings Hospital)
2: Tyrone Moran (Blackrock College)
3: Tadhg Furlong (Good Counsel)
4: Joshus Hinde (Kings Hospital)
5: Alan O’Connor (Skerries)
6: Daniel Mannion (Wicklow)
7: Brian Du Toit (Kings Hospital)
8: Jack Conan (St. Gerards) CAPTAIN


16: David Hogan (Blackrock College)
17: Lee Mitchell (Belvedere College SJ)
18: Liam Curran (St. Mary’s College) (replaced Hinde after 50 mins)
19: Michael Oyuga (Belvedere College SJ) (replaced Du Toit 45 mins)
20: Robert Holt (Edenderry) (replaced Walsh after 43 mins)
21: John O’Hehir (Blackrock College)
22: Patrick MacMillan (Kings Hospital)