Connacht Rugby 0
Leinster Rugby 47

Leinster and Munster are on course for a title decider at Energia Park next Saturday evening (KO 7.30pm) after the Women’s team made it two-out-of-two with a stylish whitewash of Connacht in the Women’s Interprovincial Championship at The Sportsground on Sunday.

Coach Ben Armstrong’s side took a step up after a victory over an improving Ulster in week one.

The Northern Women proved this by giving Munster all they could handle in a 40-20 defeat at Portadown earlier in the afternoon.

Leinster Rugby Women

Connacht have made a habit out of foiling Leinster west of the Shannon and the home province’s forward pack contained Ireland internationals Laura Feely, who was dominant in the scrum, and Nichola Fryday, who was a force in the lineout.

However, Armstrong’s mantra has been to master the basics of the game and take it from there.

This was one of those occasions on which it all came together as sweetly as planned.
It didn’t hurt when loose-head Lindsay Peat got on the end of a swinging movement for Nikki Caughey to convert in the fourth minute.

Leinster Rugby Women

The Leinster set-piece came under severe pressure and they were relieved to see Peat step up for an interception for a second seven-pointer in the 23rd minute.

The real killer blows came in first-half injury-time when number eight Hannah O’Connor and centre Michelle Claffey shot through the Connacht defence for out-half Caughey to add two more conversions for 28-0 at the break.

The introduction of Ireland international Hannah Tyrrell was another positive move, the full-back cleaning up any long balls delivered by wind assisted Connacht.

Sene Naoupu

Flankers Juliet Short and Jeamie Deacon continued to demonstrate Leinster’s cutting edge with the fifth and six tries ahead of Caughey adding the seventh, along with her sixth conversion, in the 55th minute.

The pride taken in defence was illustrated throughout the final quarter as the collective will of Leinster would not be broken.

They have not conceded a score in two matches now.

At The Sportsground – Connacht 0; Leinster 47 (L Peat 2 tries; N Caughey try, 6 cons; H O’Connor, M Claffey, J Short, J Deacon try each).

2018 Women’s Interprovincial Championship table

Pos Team Pl W D L F A Diff TB LB Pts
1 Leinster Women 2 2 0 0 62 0 62 1 0 9
2 Munster Women 2 2 0 0 64 27 37 1 0 9
3 Ulster Women 2 0 0 2 20 57 -37 1 0 1
4 Connacht Women 2 0 0 2 7 69 -62 0 0 0

Connacht Rugby

15. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians)
14. Jill Draper (Tullamore)
13. Catherine Martin (Suttonians)
12. Shannon Touhy (Galwegians)
11. Orla Dixon (NUIG)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians)
9. Mary Healy (Galwegians)
1. Laura Feely (Galwegians) CAPTAIN
2. Moya Griffin (Tullamore)
3. Annmarie O’Hora (Castlebar)
4. Denise Redmond (Galwegians)
5. Amelie Roux (Galwegians)
6. Tara Buggie (Galwegians)
7. Edel McMahon (Galwegians)
8. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians)


16. Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians)
17. Elizabeth McNicholas (Tuam)
18. Julia Bauer (Suttonians)
19. Nicola Caldbeck (Tullow)
20. Clodagh Dunne (Old Belvedere)
21. Hilary Griffin (Tullow)
22. Jane O’Neill (Old Belvedere)
23. Rachel Healy (Railway Union)

Leinster Rugby

15. Lauren Farrell-McCabe (Suttonians)
14. Gemma Matthews (Old Belvedere)
13. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere) CAPTAIN
11. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere)
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union)
9. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union)
2. Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College)
3. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union)
5. Meg Kendall (Railway Union)
6. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock College)
7. Juliet Short (Railway Union)
8. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College)

Replacements (all used)

16. Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union)
17. Christy Haney (St Mary’s College)
18. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere)
19. Mairead Holohan (Blackrock College)
20. Nicole Purdom (Suttonians)
21. Niamh Griffin (Blackrock College)
22. Nicole Carroll (Suttonians)
23. Hannah Tyrrell (Blackrock College)