The Leinster Women’s squad will be playing Ulster Women’s team on Saturday in Ashbourne RFC in their last round of their Interprovincial campaign, KO 13.30…

The Leinster Squad have put in tremendous passion, determination and grit in the lead up and during the Interprovincial Competitions. Captained by Ann Marie Rooney, the team beat Connacht 8-15, narrowly lost to Munster 0-7 by a converted try, so are geared up to battle it out for the title this Saturday. They managed to defeat Ulster in Ravenhill last year, to win the Interprovincial Series, so can they make it two in a row? 

Leinster Women’s squad:

15. Vikki McGinn (Blackrock College RFC)
14. Aoife Tyrrell (Blackrock College RFC)
13. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere RFC)
12. Kim Flood (Railway Union RFC)
11. Janice Daly (Old Belvedere RFC)
10. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara RFC)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Tullamore RFC)

1. Ruth McElroy (Old Belvedere RFC)
2. Anne Marie Rooney (St. Mary’s College RFC) CAPTAIN
3. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC)
4. Ciara Cooney (Tullow RFC)
5. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s College RFC)
6. Katie Norris (Blackrock College RFC)
7. Jennie Finaly (Navan RFC)
8. Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere RFC)


16. Cliona O’Toole (Cill Dara RFC)
17. Joanna Mahon (Co. Carlow RFC)
18. Aoife Maher (Railway Union RFC)
19. Niamh Fitzgerald (St. Mary’s College RFC)
20. Mairead Holohan (Clondalkin RFC)
21. Meg Parkinson (Carlow RFC)
22. Chrissy Doyle (Old Belvedere RFC)
23. Claire Ryan (Railway Union RFC)

Leinster Women’s Committee is also hosting a friendly, social season opener blitz. This is specifically designed for teams where the majority of players are brand new to the game.

Malahide, Clontarf, Greystones and Balbriggan, are taking centre stage, and are keen to showcase the hard work undertaken in pre-season by their players.

It’s a perfect opportunity to see what development rugby is about, and gives a taste as to whether you may want to partake, without going to a Club’s Open day. So come along and make up your own mind, with no pressure.
The Day will kick off for the Opening Blitz at 11am and finish shortly before the Interprovincial Match.

Round 1: 11-11.20am Malahide V Clontarf (pitch 2), Greystones V Balbriggan (pitch 3)

Round 2: 11.30-11.50 Malahide V Balbriggan (pitch 2), Greystones V Clontarf (pitch 3)

Round 3: 12-12.20 Malahide V Greystones (pitch 2), 12.20-12.45 Clontarf V Balbriggan (pitch 3)

We’re calling all Leinster Supporters to come out, and get behind the Women in Blue. Entry will be €;5 per adult and U18s go free.

Directions to Ashbourne RFC can be found HERE.