On a blustery Saturday afternoon in Crosshaven RFC with original venue of Ballincollig RFC being waterlogged, Leinster Women were narrowly beaten by Munster by 9-6…

All scores coming from penalties and all were scored in the first half. Nora Stapleton kicked Leinster’s penalties with Nora Briggs adding Munster’s.

Leinster had several opportunities in the 2nd half to put the game away but failed to capitalise. In the final 5 minutes of extra time Leinster were camped on the Munster line but again failed to deliver. 

The next game for Leinster is against Ulster in City of Derry RFC on Sat 14th November.


15 Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere), 14 Julie Doyle (Blackrock), 13 Grace Davitt (Blackrock), 12 Shannon Houston (Blackrock), 11 Amy Davis (Blackrock), 10 Tania Rosser (Blackrock), 9 Liz Comerford (Blackrock), 1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohs), 2. Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock), 3 Emer McManamly (Blackrock), 4 Caroline Mahon (UL Bohs), 5 Rachel Vickers (Clondalkin), 6 Orla Brennan (Blackrock), 7 Sinéad Ryan (Navan), 8 Debbie Clarke (Blackrock)


16 Shirley Corcoran (Blackrock), 17 Zofia Pehrson (Blackrock), 18 Marie Louise Reilly (Navan), 19 Dee O’Brien (Blackrock), 20 Sinead Delaney (Blackrock), 21 Aoife Tyrell (Blackrock), 22 Gill Nolan (St. Mary’s)


Manager: Niamh Hughes, Assistant Manager: Mick Kelly, Coach: Philip Doyle, Baggage Master: Dave Brennan, Physiotherapist: Dawn Cantwell