Johnny Sexton, Tadhg Furlong and Sean O’Brien have all been named to start for the Lions this Saturday, with Jack McGrath selected among the replacements.

Sam Warburton will once again captain the side.

This is the first time since 1993 that the Lions have kept the same XV for consecutive Tests.

Head Coach Warren Gatland said: “It is not very often on a Lions Tour that you get to pick the same 23 for the following game.

“We felt we should reward the players for the result and the courage that they showed in coming from behind from 18-9 down, digging themselves out of a hole and then finishing strongly in that last 10 to 15 minutes.

“There are some players who are pretty disappointed not to be selected and I understand that. It is what you would expect from competitive top athletes, they back themselves. But we have stressed all along that this is not all about the 23 players but about everyone in the squad – they have put their disappointment behind them and are helping the match day squad prepare the best they can for the Test match.

“We are all aware of how big this game is and we are expecting a backlash from the All Blacks. But the pleasing thing about the 2nd Test is just how strong we were in the last 10 or 15 minutes, in terms of energy and enthusiasm so we still feel there is another level in us.

“This is a huge chance for this group of players to show their abilities and reap the benefits of the work everyone has put in. It is their chance to make Lions history.”

British & Irish Lions 

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets/Wales)
14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby/England)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets/Wales)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens/England)
11. Elliot Daly (Wasps/England)
10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/Ireland)
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Ireland)
1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens/England)
2. Jamie George (Saracens/England)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Ireland)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens/England)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
6. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues/Wales) CAPTAIN
7. Sean O’Brien (Leinster/Ireland)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby/Wales)


16. Ken Owens (Scarlets/Wales)
17. Jack McGrath (Leinster/Ireland)
18. Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins/England)
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints/England)
20. CJ Stander (Munster/Ireland)
21. Rhys Webb (Ospreys/Wales)
22. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors/England)
23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs/England)

New Zealand

15. Jordie Barrett (1)
14. Israel Dagg (64)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (12)
12. Ngani Laumape (1)
11. Julian Savea (53)
10. Beauden Barrett (52)
9. Aaron Smith (61)
1. Joe Moody (27)
2. Codie Taylor (18)
3. Owen Franks (93)
4. Brodie Retallick (63)
5. Samuel Whitelock (87)
6. Jerome Kaino (80)
7. Sam Cane (43)
8. Kieran Read (99) CAPTAIN


16. Nathan Harris (7)
17. Wyatt Crockett (61)
18. Charlie Faumuina (49)
19. Scott Barrett (7)
20. Ardie Savea (15)
21. TJ Perenara (32)
22. Aaron Cruden (49)
23. Malakai Fekitoa (23)

Lions Fixtures & Results

13-7 win v NZ Provincial Barbarians, Toll Stadium, Whangarei (Saturday, 3rd June, KO 8.35am Irish/7.35pm New Zealand)

22-16 defeat v Auckland Blues, Eden Park, Auckland (Wednesday, 7th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

12-3 win v Crusaders, AMI Stadium, Christchurch (Saturday, 10th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

23-22 defeat v Highlanders, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin (Tuesday, 13th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

32-10 win v Maori All Blacks, Rotorua International Stadium (Saturday, 17th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

34-6 win v Chiefs, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton (Tuesday, 20th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

30-15 defeat v All Blacks, Eden Park, Auckland (Saturday, 24th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

31-31 draw v Hurricanes, Westpac Stadium, Wellington (Tuesday, 27th June, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

24-21 win v All Blacks, Westpac Stadium, Wellington (Saturday, 1st July, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

v All Blacks, Eden Park, Auckland (Saturday, 8th July, KO 8.35am/7.35pm)

Leinster Season Tickets