Malahide Community School Junior team won the Leinster Schools Junior Development Shield recently when they defeated St Mel’s from Longford 24 – 21 in an enthralling encounter…

From a school whose entire rugby programme played only 13 matches two years ago to one now that played 32 matches this year at first year, second year, Junior and Senior levels it was great to see such reward not only go to the victorious Junior team but the whole school and teaching body of Malahide Community School as well.

The school which now has a transition year rugby programme in place and has poured a huge amount of resources into rugby has got some just reward for its efforts.

Malahide Community School Junior Panel: Michael Ga-As, Ryan O’Connell, Andy Hunter, John Dillon, Rory O’Connell, Fergus Neary, Simon Kinsella, Eugene Foley, Mark Connellan, Shane Woods CAPTAIN, Matthew Quinn, Daniel Breen, Stephen Breen, Daniel Hayes, Oisin O’Toole, Piotr Mitka, Niall Delahunty, Mahdee Nokiari, Marty Flannery, Kelvin McHale, Conall Canon, Marco Lupo, Keith Power, Simon Pryor, Killian Barry, Andrew Malone