Munster Rugby U-18 Girls 7 Leinster Rugby U-18 Girls 10

The Leinster Rugby U-18 Girls clinched a narrow win over southern neighbours Munster at Musgrave Park this afternoon.

Leinster started very strongly and got the first try of the game when they turned over possession in midfield and made their way up the pitch where the ball was spread out wide for Amy Larn to touch down. Abby Moyles’ conversion hit the post as Leinster took a 0-5 lead after 10 minutes.

Munster looked to hit back straight away and a penalty offered them the chance to go to the corner. However, a crooked throw let Leinster off the hook.

Lyndsay Clarke soon received a yellow card leaving Munster down to 14, a numerical advantage that Leinster would take advantage of.

Wexford Wanderers full-back Robyn O’Connor touched down in the corner soon after to double Leinster’s lead.

The hosts were resurgent in the second half and Aoife Fleming almost had them on the board with a strong carry but excellent Leinster defending managed to keep Munster at bay.

With seven minutes remaining, Aoibheann Hahessy crashed over from close range to get Munster back within five points before Caitriona Finn added the conversion to leave just three points between the sides.

With the clock in the red, Munster won a number of penalties which got them up the pitch but Leinster secured a crucial turnover to seal the win in what was a fantastic game of rugby played between two determined teams.

Munster Rugby U-18 Girls – Ellen Boylan, Lyndsay Clarke, Emily O’Regan, Caitriona Finn, Ellen Cournane, Kate Flannery, Rebecca Rodgers, Ciara Fleming, Aoife Fleming, Niamh McCarthy, Aimee Kelly, Saoirse Crowe, Saskia Wycherley, Clodagh O’Keeffe, Beth Buttimer.

Replacements – Katie Gleeson, Sadie Murphy, Megan O’Callaghan, Saidhbh Morrison, Aoibheann Hahessy, Emma Keane, Katie Hehir, Orna Moynihan.

Leinster Rugby U-18 Girls – Robyn O’Connor, Emma Brogan, Eva Sterritt, Cara Martin, Amy Larn, Abby Moyles, Jade Gaffney, Hannah Wilson, Ava Kavanagh, Isobel Clerk, Koren Dunne, Cliodhna Ní Chonchobhair, Prudence Isaac, Orla Wafer, Amy O’Mahony.

Replacements – Kelly Burke, Lauren Fitzpatrick, Abigail Keatley Kindregan, Jane Neill, Blathnaid Smith, Eve Prendergast, Abaigeal Connon, Fiona Fennessy.

Photography: Inpho