After the captain’s run in the RDS Arena this morning, coach Matt O’Connor announced his team to face Edinburgh in the Guinness PRO12 tomorrow evening (Kick Off: 7.35pm).

Kevin McLaughlin returns after a knee injury to captain the side form the back row, in one of eight changes to the team that beat Castres away in the Champions Cup last weekend. McLaughlin last featured in early September in the round two win over Scarlets in the RDS.  

Michael Bent once again starts in the front row, but swaps sides to loose head while Tadhg Furlong is selected at tight head. Richardt Strauss starts at hooker as he closes is on 100 caps for Leinster.

Tom Denton makes his first start of the year in the second row with Kane Douglas retained beside him.  

McLaughlin captains the side from blindside flanker, with Dominic Ryan once again selected at openside. Jack Conan starts from No. 8 for his fifth appearance of the season.

There are three changes in the backs but both wingers, Darragh Fanning on the right and Luke Fitzgerald on the left, are once again selected as is full back Zane Kirchner. 

However it’s a new centre partnership with Noel Reid selected at inside centre and Ben Te’o selected outside him for his senior debut having played all 80 minutes last weekend for the Leinster ‘A’ team in the British & Irish Cup against Carmarthen Quins. 

The final change is in the half backs with Luke McGrath selected at scrum half with Jimmy Gopperth outside him at 10. 

There are tickets still available for the game at and Leinster supporters are invited to visit the Haunted House where there will be tricks and treats for all concerned! Gates open at 6.05pm with kick off at 7.35pm.


15. Zane Kirchner
14. Darragh Fanning
13. Ben Te’o
12. Noel Reid
11. Luke Fitzgerald 
10. Jimmy Gopperth 
9. Luke McGrath 
1. Michael Bent
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Tadhg Furlong 
4. Tom Denton
5. Kane Douglas
6. Kevin McLaughlin CAPTAIN
7. Dominic Ryan
8. Jack Conan 

16. Bryan Byrne
17. Ed Byrne 
18. Peter Dooley
19. Ben Marshall 
20. Dan Leavy 
21. Isaac Boss
22. Steve Crosbie
23. Mick McGrath 

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU, 115th competition game)
Assistant Referees: David Wilkinson, Stuart Douglas (both IRFU)
Citing Commissioner: Eugene Ryan (IRFU)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (IRFU)