Midlands 15 North East 0

The Midlands executed their most complete performance in round five of the Bank of Ireland Shane Horgan Cup at Ashbourne on Monday night.

They were quickly able to establish control and territory in an efficient manner for Rory Allen to open their account with a sixth-minute penalty.

Midlands wasted no time in returning to attack, driving hard for prop Darragh Brennan to be held up over the line.

When that did not work out, they kept to their game plan for Jack Boyan to crash over, out-half Allen’s conversion taking it to 10-0 in the 12th minute.

Gradually, the North East began to eat up ground from strong carries by tight-head Dan Colgan, hooker James Canning and powerful lock Rory O’Gorman.

They just couldn’t break down the gritty, well organised Midlands defence with number eight Sam Mills, hooker Tom Sveinty and centre Simon Drea coming forward to shut down carriers.

The North East applied plenty of pressure, centres Luke Carley and Tim Deering threatening, without finishing off their solid approach work.

It didn’t help when full-back Tadgh Duff was lost to a shoulder injury, the winners maintaining their lead with stiff defence for much of the third quarter.

Then, they moved out of trouble to do what North East was unable to do, in shifting the ball sweetly for flanker Boyan to pick up his second try in the 60th minute.

Scorers – Midlands: Jack Boyan 2 tries; R Allen 1 penalty, 1conversion.

Midlands: Dean Broderick (Midlands Warriors); Jack Burns (Tullamore), Conor Moore (Mullingar), Simon Drea (Tullamore), Jude Audd (Mullingar); Rory Allen (Edenderry), Paidi O’Gorman (both Edenderry); Stefan Pesukic (Mullingar), Tom Sveinty (Mullingar), Darragh Brennan, Ciaran Crowley, Jack Kenny (all Tullamore), Jack Levingston, Jack Boyan (both Mullingar), Sam Mills (Longford).

Replacements: Eoin Powell-Murtagh (Longford), Patrick Dooley (Birr), Peter Feeley, Jack Bates (both Tullamore), Ciaran McKenna (Mullingar).

North East: Tadgh Duff; Dan Holmes (both Boyne), Tim Deering (Skerries), Luke Carley, Alex Hermitage (both Boyne); Paddy Kelly (Skerries), Jamie Byrne (Boyne); Oisin McNamara (Balbriggan), James Canning (Dundalk), Dan Colgan (Ratoath); Cathal Halpenny (Ashbourne), Rory O’Gorman (Boyne); Oisin Cunningham (Ratoath), Sean Price (Skerries), Lincoln De Year (Boyne).

Replacements: Joe McCardle, Morgan O’Reilly, Jue Woods (Boyne), Enda O’Brien (Ashbourne), Orama Dauramuzi (Boyne), Sean Lambe (Ashbourne), Cathal Magee (Balbriggan), Oisin Hegarty (Skerries).