OLSC AGM Minutes in Old Belvedere RFC… 25th July 2009

1) Welcome and Introduction

Killian Byrne – Secretary of the OLSC opened the meeting and welcomed all those in attendance. It was noted that attendance at this, the third OLSC AGM was very high and that there was “standing room only”. The presence of the Heineken Trophy was noted and members were delighted to have an opportunity to have their photograph taken while holding the trophy.

2) President’s Report – Season 2008 – 2009

Robbie O’Connor, outgoing President presented his final report of his tenure noting a number of points

– Increased season ticket sales reaching 11000, with 8,000 sold before HEC Final 2009

– The relationship between Leinster Rugby and OLSC is stronger than ever

– The OLSC committee and volunteers continue to work on matchdays distributing flags, bodhrans, giant jersey etc

– The use of flags by Leinster Rugby and supporters continues to bear fruit with the evidence being seen at the HEC S/F and Final where the colour blue was evident throughout the stadiums

– Dedicated volunteers continue to be a great asset to the club and thanks was due to all involved.

– Merchandise sales were strong, but as this is the only source of funding for the OLSC they would continue to be pushed throughout the season to come.

– Travel guides were an excellent source of information for fans. The OLSC for the first time produced guides to all matched. 

– Increasing travelling numbers is to be welcomed

– The President thanked Paul and Yvonne Kelly for their “leinsterfans” message board and the contribution is has given to supporter activity.

– S/F ticketing problems saw a period of intense work for the OLSC in providing the correct information to members at all times throughout the period. It was noted that TicketMaster had accepted responsibility for any errors that occurred.

– The President thanked his committee, Leinster Rugby and family on the occasion of him ending his Presidency.

The President’s report was adopted and passed with a majority show of hands.

3) Treasurer’s Report

Jarrod Bromley presented members with the financial report for 2008/09 noting the following…

– Increased merchandise sales had allowed for significant spending in areas such as away travel, promotional material such as business cards, player nights and match day banners.

– The OLSC’s sole source of funding is through merchandise sales and other areas are being examined to supplement this for the season ahead.

– The OLSC now prefer to run “payment in advance” plans as this dramatically reduces the risk to the OLSC and cry offs from OLSC activities.

The Treasurer’s report was passed by a majority show of hands

4) AOB

– A request was put forward that the OLSC continue to ensure that issues surrounding ticketing do not happen again – this was accepted by the committee and noted that systems were already in place to ensure that S/F ticketing problems do not occur.

– A request was put forward and accepted by the committee that the OLSC formally congratulate Leinster Rugby and players on the magnificent achievements for the season past.

– A request was forwarded that the committee and Leinster Rugby continue to attempt to encourage supporters not wishing to take Leinster Flags home to deposit them at collection points on the way out of the RDS.

– The OLSC was asked to provide information on all Leinster representative matches in their monthly briefings to supporters

– A suggestion was put forward to ask Leinster Rugby to allocate one home game as a “bucket collection” day for the supporters club. This will be investigated.

5) Election of committee

Killian Byrne as Secretary explained the regulations behind the elections and prior to the ballot thanked outgoing committee members for their contribution to the club for the seasons past

– David Harold and David Cahill received special edition prints of the Leinster team.

– A letter of thanks from Michael Dawson, CEO of Leinster Rugby was read into record, in appreciation and thanks to the hard work and dedication shown by Robbie O’Connor in his time as president. Robbie was presented with a signed Leinster jersey as a gift.

– The following committee members were elected to the OLSC committee for Season 2009/10:

Jarrod Bromley

Killian Byrne

Shane Byrne

Bryan Delaney

Alison Moore

Aisling O’Connor

Rhona O’Connor

Following a show of hands, Killian Byrne was elected as the OLSC President for the coming season.

6) Close

Killian Byrne formally accepted his election as President, thanked everyone for coming and closed the meeting.