The Leinster Schools (Under-18) team were edged 21-16 by Munster Schools in Wednesday afternoon’s Interprovincial in Donnybrook…Leinster (Under-19) team defeat Munster 19-8…

At DonnybrookLEINSTER U-18 SCHOOLS 16 (A Clarkin try; R Jones 3 pens, con); MUNSTER U-18 SCHOOLS 21 (E Crosse, J McGarry try each; 3 pens, con)

Terenure number eight Adam Clarkin scored a try for the hosts, but Munster dominated for long periods and were rewarded with tries from Crescent wing forward Eoin Crosse and Jamie McGarry.

Castleknock College full-back put in an accomplished kicking display with three penalties and a conversion, but it wasn’t enough and the visitors withstood late pressure to seal the derby spoils.

LEINSTER: R Jones (Castleknock); C Finn (Cistercian, Roscrea), M Roche (Blackrock), J Kearns (CBC Monkstown), S Coghlan-Murray (Newbridge); C Marsh (St Michael’s), L McGrath (St Michael’s); D Merrey (King’s Hospital) T Austin (Castleknock), P Reilly (Castleknock), L Curran (St. Mary’s, CAPTAIN), J Conan (St. Gerard’s), M Oyuga (Belvedere), B du Toit (King’s Hospital), A Clarkin (Terenure College)

REPLACEMENTS: J Cawley (St Andrew’s) for Oyuga 20 mins – temp; D Hogan (Blackrock College) for Austin 63 mins; I Burke (De La Salle, Churchtown) for McGrath, P Lydon (Kilkenny) for Marsh, D Ruddock (Kilkenny) for Finn all 69 mins

MUNSTER: Jack Costigan (PBC); Paul Curtis (St Munchin’s), Jamie McGarry (Ard Scoil Ris), JJ Hanrahan (Rockwell), Tom Ryan (Crescent); Sean Og Murphy (PBC), Neil Cronin (Castletroy); Niall Scannell (PBC), James Rael (Castletroy), Richard Martin (CBC), Yasin Brown (CBC), Shane Buckley (Rockwell, CAPTAIN), Eoin Crosse (Crescent), Cathal Gallagher (CBC), Ryan Murphy (PBC)

REPLACEMENTS: E Carr (St Munchin’s) for McGarry 73 mins


Meanwhile, the Leinster Schools (Under-19) team sealed the Interprovincial title when they defeated Munster 19-8 on Wednesday afternoon in Donnybrook.

Niall Casey’s try midway through the first half pushed the hosts into an early 10-0 lead after David Godfrey had kicked a simple penalty and added the conversion into the Bective end. Godfrey added a second and third penalty before Munster drew back through a Murray penalty to give the hosts a 16-3 half-time advantage.

A late McManus try from Munster added some gloss to the scoreline, but Godfrey kicked his fourteenth point of a sun-kissed afternoon to seal the win and the title for the hosts.

At DonnybrookLEINSTER U-19 SCHOOLS 19 (N Casey try; D Godfrey 4 pens, con); MUNSTER U19 SCHOOLS 8 (K McManus try; J Murray pen)

LEINSTER: E Moriarity (St Mary’s); C Fitzpatrick (Blackrock), A Kelly (St Michael’s), M Walsh (St. Mary’s), D Diviney (Gonzaga); D Godfrey (Blackrock), N Casey (Terenure), J Tracy (Newbridge), P Carroll (Blackrock), C Duffy (Belvedere), J Kelly (Blackrock), R Hynes (Clongowes Wood), E MacMahon (St Michael’s, CAPTAIN), M McGroarty (Gonzaga), E Joyce (Terenure)

REPLACEMENTS: D Murray (Belvedere) for Diviney 18 mins – temp; J Hart (Belvedere) for Casey 54 mins: M Fallon (St Mary’s) for J Kelly 59 mins; A Howard (CBC Monkstown) for Duffy 60 mins; C Thompson (Newbridge) for Carroll 63 mins; R Banahan (CBC Monkstown) for Tracy 68 mins

MUNSTER: J Murray; L Kuntz, (both St Munchin’s), D O’Doherty (CBC), D Costello (Glenstal), P Quinn; P Murray (both Castletroy), R Barry (PBC); J Randles (Crescent), K Stokes (CBC), P Mullen (Glenstal), T Goggin (St Munchin’s), D O’Mahony (PBC), S Hanbridge (CBC, CAPTAIN), J Duffy, B Carroll (PBC)

REPLACEMENTS: P O’Connor (Castletroy) for Costello ht; K McManus (St Munchin’s) for Barry 49 mins; M O’Mahony (CBC) for Randles, D O’Riordan (Midleton) for Duffy both 48 mins; B Mullins (St Munchin’s) for Quinn 55 mins