CBC Monkstown 39 King’s Hospital 10

CBC Monkstown are into the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Vinnie Murray Senior Cup final after victory over King’s Hospital at Donnybrook on Thursday.

They had a little too much for King’s Hospital in a win which began with Eoin Quinn scoring a penalty with authority in the fourth minute.

CBC were quicker into their stride, threatening again off the back of Tadhg St Ledger-Quinn’s drive only for a pass to go to ground.

The number eight St Ledger-Quinn surged off a 5-metre scrum for the go-forward necessary for flanker Niall Scully to finish the job, Quinn converting for 10-0 in the 13th minute.

The carrying game of Hos’ centre Matias Gianetti-Latuf was impressive, one burst taking up 50 metres.

They just didn’t have the cohesion to fully feed off it and they were on the back foot soon enough, scrum-half Cian Tallon crashing over for Quinn to convert.

There was an inevitability about the third try, centre Gareth Hughes finding just enough space on the left in the 33rd minute.

KH came out for the second period with renewed energy and focus. They just couldn’t make a dent in the defence. Monkstown were more ruthless, Reynolds turning out of a tackle for a try at the posts which he converted.

The captain followed up with his second seven before Hos’ finally hit back with a direct approach for flanker Hugh Perry to make the line.

There was more to take away from wing Adam Bagnall’s smart finish down the left just before the final whistle.

Scorers – CBC Monkstown: J Reynolds 2 tries, pen, 2 cons, N Scully, C Tallon, G Hughes try each. E Quinn pen, 2 cons; King’s Hospital 10 H Perry, A Bagnall try each.

CBC Monkstown: Sean Power (Sean Cronin 38′); Robbie Browne, James Reynolds (capt) (Theodore Brady 56′), Gareth Hughes, Logan Brady (Eoghan Healy 60′); Eoin Quinn, Cian Tallon (Ewan Watson 56′); Conor Anderson (Jake Unger 65′), Liam Forster, Luke Dunne, Hugh Ross, Daniel Montayne, Ryan Hayes (Jonathan Browne 16′), Niall Scully (Eoin Mahon 60′), Tadhg St Ledger-Quinn (Calum McCoy 43′).

King’s Hospital: Luke Gilmartin (David Brennan 63′); Abraham Shodiya (Brian Oh 40′), Moyo Mobolaji (Angus Mobolaji 53′), Mateas Gianetti, Adam Bagnall; Matthew Mahood (James Kelly 53′), Josh Morgan; William Hendey (capt), Oscar Blood, Magnus Weilandt (Luke O’Neill 40′), Luke Corr (Dylan Bagnall 63′), Jack Ormsby (Royale Ohoka 40′), Alexander Walsh, Hugh Perry (Yury Sinev 61′), Steven Walsh.

Referee: B White, Leinster Branch.