CBC Monkstown 50 CUS 17

CBC Monkstown claimed the Bank of Ireland Vinnie Murray Cup today with victory over Catholic University School at Energia Park.

The game started with a minor blip for the winners in the form of a Fionn Jones try for CUS.

A patient Monkstown controlled the ball for the remainder of the first half as shown on the scoreboard.

Hooker Conor Anderson touched down from the back of a lineout maul in the 10th minute while CUS were down to 14. It would be the first of three tries for him in the opening 35 minutes.

Monkstown took the lead in the 16th minute thanks to the footwork of scrum-half Cian Tallon and never relinquished the advantage from that point.

Logan Brady also got on the scoreboard in the first half before Anderson picked up two more tries in the space of three minutes either side of the half-hour mark.

They added to that in the second half with full-back Sean Power proving a handful in the lead up to captain James Reynolds’ try which he converted himself.

Tallon got his second before Liam Forster smartly released the ball in the tackle before picking and going again to get his name on the score sheet.

CUS refused to lie down however and they showed their mettle with two tries from Michael Barrett and replacement Sean Andrews to claw back some of the deficit.

However, the powerful first half performance from Monkstown had left too much for the valiant CUS side to do.

Scorers – CBC Monkstown: Conor Anderson three tries, Cian Tallon two tries, Logan Brady, Liam Forster try each. James Reynolds try, 2 cons, Eoin Quinn 3 cons; CUS: Fionn Jones, Michael Barrett, Sean Andrews try each, David O’Halloran con.

CBC Monkstown: Sean Power, Logan Brady (Daniel Drummond 56’), James Reynolds (capt), Gareth Hughes, Robbie Browne (Eoghan Healy 42’), Eoin Quinn, Cian Tallon (Ewan Watson 56’); Seamus Flannery (Eoin Mahon 42’), Conor Anderson (Flannery 56’), Luke Dunne (Theodore Brady 42’), Hugh Ross, Daniel Montayne, Liam Forster (Dunne 56’), Niall Scully, Tadhg St Leger-Quinn (Patrick Nolan 56’).

CUS: Vinny Flynn (David McCormack 68’), Jake Costello (Ben Lockhart h-t), Eoin Brady, Aonghus Brady, Fionn Jones (Tom Brennan 46’), David O’Halloran (capt), Zach Ryan; Callum Clinton (Padraig Mongey 66’), Jack Guinon (Niall O’Neill 46’), Alex Hegarty, Oran Walsh (Sean Andrews 46’), Michael Barrett, James Byrne, Barry Mangan, Ethan Hauer (Dara Brennan 56’).

Referee: John Flynn