CBC Monkstown 54 St Andrew’s College 10

CBC Monkstown impressed on their way into the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Vinnie Murray Senior Cup semi-finals at Energia Park on Tuesday.

Early on, the commitment was relentless as counter-rucking and front foot defence dominant until CBC captain James Reynolds ripped the ball in the tackle to set up a direct series of drives culminating in flanker Ryan Hayes touching down for out-half Eoin Quinn to convert in the 12th minute.

At the same time, St Andrew’s also had to suffered the loss of their captain Patrick Perrem, a blow they never really recovered from.

CBC wasted little time in striking for their second try, a sweeping maul travelling strongly for hooker Conor Anderson to ground the ball, Quinn converting.

Vinnie Murray Cup

CBC were growing in confidence and had their third try in the 27th-minute through scrum-half Cian Tallon, converted by Quinn.

When CBC lost a man to the bin, it did open up an opportunity for a half-break by centre Nathan Murphy just before a second yellow for Monkstown close to half-time.

CBC scored a fourth try through centre Gareth Hughes, despite being down two players, Quinn landing the touchline conversion.

Quicksilver Tallon pounced for his second and wing Eoghan Healy followed up for two tries in as many minutes, both converted by Quinn.

Vinnie Murray Cup

St Andrew’s had no answer outside where full-back Sean Power strolled over for the seventh try.

They finally made an impression when flanker Robert Halpenny shot through a hole and hooker Joshua Kuh-Hogan was on his shoulder for a fine try.

CBC still had something left, lock Daniel Montayne crashing over from short range for captain James Reynolds to convert.

It was left to St Andrew’s right wing Oliver McGannon to close it out with their second try.

CBC: Sean Power; Logan Brady, James Reynolds (capt), Gareth Hughes, Eoghan Healy; Eoin Quinn, Cian Tallon; Luke Dunne, Conor Anderson, Seamus Flannery, Hugh Ross, Daniel Montayne, Liam Foster, Ryan Hayes, Tadhg St Ledger-Quinn.

Replacements: Niall Scully for Flannery 6 mins; Calum McCoy for Hayes 37mins – temp; Jonathan Browne for Dunne 39 mins; Calum McCoy for Hayes, Patrick Boyd for Tallon both 46 mins; Robbie Browne for Healy, Ewan Watson for Brady 50 mins; Eoin Mahon for Anderson 55 mins; Jake Unger for St Ledger-Quinn 60 mins.

St Andrew’s: Nicholas Owens; Oliver McGannon, Nathan Murphy, Michael Butler, Riain McDonald; James McDonnell, Charlie Turner; Cameron Blair, Joshua Kuh-Hogan, John Hewson, Charlie Walker, Luke Daly, Robert Halfpenny, Johan McDermott, Patrick Perrem (capt).

Replacements: Louis Ronaldson for Perrem 13 mins; Flynn Ashton for Turner 30 mins; Rory Tuke for Ronaldson ht; Sam Hamilton for Owens 42 mins; Elliot Sellers for McDonald 48 mins; Alex Deegan for Tuke, Jack Riordan for Walker both 61 mins.

Referee: J Hollywood, Leinster Branch.

At Donnybrook – CBC MONKSTOWN 54 (C Tallon 2 tries; R Hayes, C Anderson, E Healy, G Hughes, S Power, D Montayne try each; E Quinn 6 cons; J Reynolds con); ST ANDREW’S COLLEGE 10 (J Kuh-Hogan. O McGannon try each).