The Andie Adams coached boys moved into a commanding lead through tries from centre Leon Gallagher and second row Lennon Doyle and the accurate place-kicking of full-back Oliver Perrem.

Templeogue stayed in the hunt from their number eight Joseph Keane’s try and a penalty by centre Daniel Ryan to trail 17-8 at the break.

The most crucial score came midway through the second period when flanker Finn Sunderman drove home Newpark’s territorial advantage for Perrem to convert for 24-8 in the 46th minute.

Fr Godfrey Cup

Replacement Sam Turner made an immediate impact for the fourth and final try to seal a place in the second round.

At Donnybrook – Newpark Comprehensive 29 (F Sunderman, L Doyle, L Gallagher, S Turner try each; O Perrem pen, 3 cons); Templeogue College 8 (J Keane try; D Ryan pen).


Newpark: Oliver Perrem; Agatowski Kaecper, Leon Gallagher, Ben Marnell, Oisin Mongey; Jose Faria, Cameron Ramsay; Jack Maloney-O’Brien, Finn Tierney, Oisin Linnane, Lennon Doyle, Ian Walsh, Finn Sunderman, Eric Lysaght, Adam Faulkner.

Replacements: Sam Turner for Doyle 51 mins; Nicky Gray for Ramsay, Adam Walsh for Walsh, John van der Linde for Linnane all 55 mins; Dayi Ighodaro for Fulkner, Liam Hurley for Maloney-O’Brien both 56 mins; Christian O’Meara for Kaecper, George Byrne for Mongey both 58 mins.

Templeogue: Daragh McLoughlin; Max Ebbs, Kevin Elwood, Daniel Ryan, Colm Fitzpatrick; Joe Kenny, David Horan; Jack Reilly, Fergal McCabe, Simon Orr, Adam O’Connell, David Knocker (capt), Dylan Laird, Liam Skov, Joseph Keane.

Replacements: Conor Pierce for Orr, James Boland for Laird both ht; Woody Sargent for Horan 45 mins; Sean McManus for Adamczyh 53 mins; Eoin Behan for Reilly, Jonathan Bell for Skov both 55 mins.

Referee: S Owens, Leinster Branch.

Leinster v Montpellier

Bank of Ireland Fr Godfrey Cup

(52) Fixture List - Schools Fr Godfrey Cup