The draws for the Newstalk Provincial Towns Cup 1st round as well as the opening two rounds of the Newstalk Metropolitan Cup were made on Saturday evening at a reception in the Aviva Stadium ahead of the Leinster v ASM Clermont Auvergne Heineken Cup tie…

Leinster Branch President Kevin Fitzpatrick oversaw proceedings and special guest of honour was Ciaran Fitzgerald who drew the home clubs in the Metro Cup while Leinster’s Trevor Hogan drew the away sides.

Newstalk broadcaster Ivan Yates drew the away teams in the Towns Cup draw while Rob Kearney was responsible for pulling the home teams from the hat.

The first round ties in both Cups will be on Sunday, 20th February – the original first round date of 30th January will now be used to catch up in the ever growing backlog of League matches.

Towns Cup – 1st Round:

Kilkenny v Skerries
Newbridge v Roscrea
Portlaoise v Enniscorthy
Portarlington v Wexford Wanderers
Cill Dara v Clane
Arklow v Rathdrum
Wicklow v Gorey
Ashbourne v Naas
Mullingar v New Ross
Tullow v Edenderry
Tullamore v Navan
Longford v Athy
North Kildare v West Offaly Lions
Clondalkin v Co Carlow

Byes – Boyne (holders) and Dundalk

Metro Cup – 1st Round:

Seapoint v Wanderers
St Marys College v Coolmine
Old Belvedere v Monkstown
Terenure College v NUIM Barnhall

Metro Cup – 2nd Round:

Suttonians v Garda
Old Belvedere / Monkstown v Railway Union
Terenure College / NUIM Barnhall v UCD
Greystones v Seapoint / Wanderers
De La Salle Palmerston v Blackrock College
St Marys College / Coolmine v Lansdowne
Clontarf v Old Wesley
Dublin University v Bective Rangers