Brian O’Driscoll was inducted into the RPA Hall of Fame at the 18th annual RPA Players’ Awards 2016 in association with England Rugby.

The evening played host to some of the biggest names in the game, with Wasps back row George Smith, currently in his 17th year of professional rugby, named the Players’ Player of the Year.

On, O’Driscoll’s achievements with Leinster, Ireland and the British & Irish Lions were highlighted as the reasons for the former outside centre’s induction into the RPA Hall of Fame: “Brian O’Driscoll is not only an Ireland legend, but one of the most iconic stars in the history of the sport. He is the second most capped international player of all time with 133 caps and he won three Champions Cup titles with Leinster, three RBS 6 Nations trophies including a Grand Slam in 2009 and won a British and Irish Lions series in 2013. There are few players in world rugby who deserve a lifetime achievement more than O’Driscoll.”

O’Driscoll played 186 times for Leinster (putting him sixth on the all-time list), scoring 61 tries (second only to Shane Horgan’s 69 tries for the province). 

The RPA Hall of Fame Induction

Brian O’Driscoll

The RPA Players’ Player of the Year in association with England Rugby

Winner: George Smith – Wasps Rugby

Andy Goode – Newcastle Falcons
Nathan Hughes – Wasps Rugby
Charles Piutau – Wasps Rugby
Thomas Waldrom – Exeter Chiefs 
LV= Young Player of the Year

Winner: Maro Itoje – Saracens

Jack Clifford – Harlequins
Elliot Daly – Wasps Rugby
Harry Mallinder – Northampton Saints
Harry Thacker – Leicester Tigers
The Old Mutual Wealth England Player of the Year

Winner: Billy Vunipola – Saracens

James Haskell – Wasps Rugby
George Kruis – Saracens
Chris Robshaw – Harlequins
Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby
England Sevens Player of the Year

Winner: Dan Bibby

Warwick Lahmert
Ruaridh McConnochie
England Women’s Player of the Year

Winner: Sarah Hunter

Emily Braund
Heather Fisher
Championship Player of the Year in association with England Rugby

Winner: Jack Lam – Bristol Rugby

Ryan Burrows – Yorkshire Carnegie
Jonah Holmes – Yorkshire Carnegie 
Nine Feet Tall Personal Development Programme Award

Winner: Rob Hawkins – Newcastle Falcons

Tom Court – London Irish
James Hudson – Gloucester Rugby
Richard Thorpe – London Welsh
The Restart Rugby Special Merit Award

Charlie Hodgson
RPA Blyth Spirit Award

Henry Fraser