Brian O’Driscoll was inducted into the Rugby Players Ireland Hall of Fame at the Irish Rugby awards ceremony on Wednesday evening.

O’Driscoll follows fellow Leinster Rugby men such as Girvan Dempsey, Malcolm O’Kelly and Denis Hickie into the Hall of Fame.

A former chairman of the players’ association, O’Driscoll retired from the game in 2014 winning the PRO12 title with Leinster in his final game of rugby, and having led Ireland to the Six Nations title in Paris earlier that season.

O’Driscoll said: “When I set out in the game, all I wanted was to play and enjoy the game for what it was. However, throughout my career, I saw rugby grow in a way that I could never have imagined. Similarly, I never would have thought that my career would play out as it did. There are so many special experiences, friends and memories that I have the game to thank for. It was a privilege to represent my province and my country for so long.”

The Contribution to Society award was presented to Jack McGrath in recognition of his work in his community.

McGrath has been one of the main supporters of Rugby Players Ireland’s ‘Tackle Your Feelings‘ initiative which encourages people to open up and seek help when they are feeling under pressure.

Many of Ireland’s Grand Slam heroes were present at the Clayton Hotel on the Burlington Road last night for what was a celebration of momentous season for Irish rugby on the field.

While there were several moments throughout the season that will always be remembered fondly, members of the public determined that Ireland’s victory over England was the Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Rugby Moment of the Year via Twitter.

Munster and Ireland’s Keith Earls was awarded the title of Players’ Player of the Year 2018 by his fellow players at the Zurich Irish Rugby Awards ceremony.

Jacob Stockdale was named as the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year 2018. In claiming the award, Stockdale came in ahead of strong competition in the form of Leinster duo James Ryan and Jordan Larmour.

Award Winners

Irish Rugby Players’ Player of the Year 2018

Winner: Keith Earls, Munster Rugby


Keith Earls, Munster Rugby
Tadhg Furlong, Leinster Rugby
Conor Murray, Munster Rugby
Johnny Sexton, Leinster Rugby

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year 2018

Winner: Jacob Stockdale, Ulster Rugby


Jordan Larmour, Leinster Rugby
James Ryan, Leinster Rugby
Jacob Stockdale, Ulster Rugby

Women’s XVs Player of the Year 2018

Winner: Claire Molloy

Women’s 7s Player of the Year 2018

Winner: Lucy Mulhall

Try of the Year 2018

Winner: CJ Stander (England v Ireland, Six Nations)


Andrew Conway (Munster v Toulon, Champions Cup)
CJ Stander (England v Ireland, Six Nations)
Jacob Stockdale (Ireland v Wales, Six Nations)

Medal for Excellence 2018

Winner: Duncan Casey, Grenoble


Duncan Casey, Grenoble
Jake Heenan, Connacht
Rhys Ruddock, Leinster

Rugby Players Ireland Hall of Fame 2018

Inducted: Brian O’Driscoll

Supporters’ Player of the Year 2018

Winner: Bundee Aki, Connacht

Moment of the Year 2018

Winner: ‘The Grand Slam’ as voted by the public on Twitter @druidsglen #DruidsMoment18

Contribution to Irish Society 2018

Jack McGrath