Marie Louise Reilly – or ‘Maz’ as she is known – recently achieved the 50 cap milestone for her country during the 2017 6 Nations and she now gets set to take part in her third Rugby World Cup.

Marie Louise is the penultimate Leinster player in our series as we get set for the kick off on Wednesday in UCD.

Name: Marie Louise Reilly

Club: Old Belvedere

Position: Lock

Born: Leeds, Apr 1, 1980

Height/Weight: 194cm/82kg

Caps: 50

Debut: v Italy, 2010 6 Nations

Occupation: Dublin City Council Sports Officer

World Cup Experience: Third World Cup

Twitter: @MazzieReilly

Did You Know:  Leeds born Reilly moved to Ireland when she was only 11 years of age and settled in Moynalvey in Co. Meath, also home to another Leinster and Ireland lock, Devin Toner. She took up rugby while a student in the Institute Technology, Tralee. Initially selected at full back with Navan RFC the talented Reilly took advice from seasoned Leinster stalwarts Fiona Coghlan and Yvonne Nolan and was soon to be found locking down in the scrum. She made her Test debut in 2010 and has since won two 6 Nations titles including that famous Grand Slam in 2013. Her cousin Brendan Reilly was a high jumper with Ireland and represented Ireland in Sydney 2000.

WRWC 2017 Fixtures:

Pool C –

Ireland v Australia, UCD Bowl, 7pm, Wednesday, August 9
Ireland v Japan, UCD Bowl, 5.15pm, Sunday, August 13
France v Ireland, UCD Bowl, 7.45pm, Thursday, August 17

For more on the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup, visit the tournament website – Any remaining match tickets for #WRWC2017 are now on

IRELAND WRWC 2017 Squad – Backs (13): Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster), Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht), Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster) *, Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock/Leinster), Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster), Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/Ulster), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht), Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Harlequins), Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

Forwards (15): Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians/Munster), Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster), Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht) (capt), Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster), Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster), Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/Connacht), Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht), Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

* Denotes uncapped player