The North Midlands Area Hosie & Lalor Cup Finals (generously sponsored by Celtic Horizons Tours) will be staged on Sunday, 2nd January at Portlaoise Rugby Club…

The 45th Hosie Cup Final (Junior 1) starts at 4pm and features Cill Dara and Portarlington. First staged in 1967, Cill Dara have appeared in 5 finals previously and recorded 2 wins – in 2004 (against Clane) and in 2006 (against Portarlington).

Portarlington have appeared in 3 finals and recorded their first win in 2000 (beating Athy).

Cill Dara are currently bottom of the Leinster League Division 1A with just 1 win and 5 League points from their 7 League fixtures and scoring 63 points and conceding 178 points.

Portarlington (Leinster League Division 1B) are currently in 5th position in their League section with 3 wins and 18 League points from their 8 League fixtures.

Portarlington have scored 149 points and conceded 164 points in a League campaign that has also yielded 6 bonus League points.

The Lalor Cup Final (Junior 2) kicks off at 1.30pm and will feature Athy and Newbridge. Athy have won 3 Lalor Cups (1980 v Portarlington, 1984 v Cill Dara, 1985 v Portarlington), while Newbridge have won the trophy once – in 2007, beating Athy by 18 points to 15 points.