Blackrock College 38 Terenure College 12

Blackrock College are the first team into the last four of the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Junior Cup after this victory over Terenure at Energia Park.

Blackrock had the initiative from the first shrill blast of the referee’s whistle, to the extent that within a minute a score seemed inevitable.

And it was in the second minute that pressure told as Liam Molony crashed over the line for the first points of the day.

Ethan Laing added to that just five minutes later when he showed lightning pace – and with the help of a fortunate bounce – to retrieve his own kick and touch down.

It was the first of two key phases of play in which Laing would demonstrate that pace, with the wing also scoring ‘Rock’s third try.

From almost nothing, he took flight around the outside of the Terenure defence and couldn’t be caught.

Terenure responded admirably and gained some territory. Harry Coleman was the try-scorer as a strong lineout maul was pushed over the line.

That glint of hope was shortlived as Blackrock quickly jumped back to life and opportunistic scrum-half Will Fitzgerald dotted down.

With the thirty minutes of the first-half played, ‘Rock were in again, this time prop Cian O’Brien somehow twisted his way under the posts with a string of bodies hanging off of him.

After the restart, the game developed into a very stop-start affair and it didn’t benefit either side.

Gus McCarthy added to Blackrock’s advantage but they weren’t the same force as they had been in the first half which is credit to Terenure’s resilience.

They picked up a late consolation, through Peter McNamara but it would not be enough to threaten Blackrock’s lead.

Scorers – Blackrock College: Ethan Laing two tries, Liam Molony, Will Fitzgerald, Cian O’Brien, Gus McCarthy try each, Zach Quirke 4 cons; Terenure College: Harry Coleman, Peter McNamara try, Harvey O’Leary con.

Blackrock College: Cian Ryan (Ethan Laing 57’), Charlie Leahy, Hugh Cooney (Danny Molloy 51’), Federico Mei, Ethan Laing (James O’Sullivan 45’), Zach Quirke, Will Fitzgerald (Patrick van Zuydam 49’); Cian O’Brien (Emmet Gulliver 51’), Greg Barron (Maxwell Brophy 51’), Paddy McCarthy, Samuel Green, Tom Brigg (Charlie O’Brien 51’), Gus McCarthy (capt) (Padraig Foley 49’), Liam Molony (Tom Brigg 60’), Kevin Jackson (Jamie McLoughlin 12’).

Terenure College: James Clarke (Niall Moore 15’), Jack Grimes, Matthew Vaughan, Yago Fernandez (Harvey O’Leary 45’), Thomas Costello, Tom Murray (capt), Peter McNamara; Matthew Lydon (Nathan Meade 27’), Harry Coleman, Adam Hall, Ultan Byrne, Cuan Doyle, Tim Staunton, Darragh Brooks, Oisín Nulty (Sean Ruane 37’).

Referee: Glenn Sheridan