This coming Saturday, 11 September, at 3pm, the final of the Bank of Ireland Colm O’Shea Cup takes place between Wicklow RFC and Seapoint RC on the all-weather pitch at Aviva Stadium hosted by Lansdowne FC.

After 18 months of little or no domestic club rugby, this new competition was introduced by the Leinster Branch Competitions Committee to kick start the new season across the 12 counties of Leinster for clubs that compete in Division 1A and 1B of the Leinster League.

After a successful knock-out campaign, which produced a number of exciting and entertaining matches, the two clubs that have emerged to contest the final are Wicklow RFC and Seapoint RC.

The men from the Garden County en route to the final defeated Suttonians RFC and Monkstown FC before taking on Gorey RFC in the semi-final. In a closely fought encounter, Wicklow ran out the winners by a two-point margin (24-22).

Seapoint, having beaten Tullow RFC in round one then defeated Mullingar RFC before accounting for Boyne RFC in their semi-final with a 27-5 victory.

So, an exciting cup final is envisaged between two clubs who have shown good early season form, and will both seek to lift silverware this coming Saturday which will hold them in good stead for the season ahead.

Colm O’Shea passed away in September 2020 and was a former Chair of the Leinster Branch Competitions Committee and was a valued member of the Junior and Rugby Committees and of Lansdowne FC for many years. Lansdowne FC are delighted to host this prestigious event on Saturday in recognition of their esteemed member.

In line with Covid restrictions this game is not open to the public, however, the match will be live-streamed with thanks to Lansdowne FC and can be watched here.

Wicklow RFC Team:

15. Aaron Byrne
14. Adam Cullen
13. Alex Porter
12. Shane Farrar
11. Dean Leonard
10. Scott Burleigh
9. Dennis Higgins

1. Eanna Killeen
2. Jack McKenna
3. Mark Cullen
4. John Jenkinson
5. Johan Van der Flier
6. Neill Kearney
7. Jonny Hopkins
8. Savenaca Tuimatanisaqa

16. Jason Byrne
17. Stephen Swan
18. Patrick Thornton
19. Mark Higgins
20. Jack Dunne

Seapoint RC Team:
15. Harry Martin
14. Alex Guerin
13. Gareth Hughes
12. Cian Buckley
11. Dave O’Reilly
10. Darragh Mullins
9. Cian Tallon

1. Bryan Lyons CAPTAIN
2. Cian Cunningham
3. Brian Duggan
4. Alex McAuley
5. Cian O’Gorman
6. Conor Montayne
7. Zac Jungmann
8. Michael Kerr

16. Eoin Mahon
17. Richie Mouatt
18. Daniel Montayne
19. Matt McKenna
20. Brian Guerin