The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Cardiff City Stadium in Saturday’s Magners League clash (KO: 6.30pm) has been named…

Leo Cullen will enter the history books when he becomes only the fifth player in the province’s history to reach the 150 cap landmark. In achieving this milestone, the Newmountkennedy second row follows Shane Horgan (198 caps), Malcolm O’Kelly (188), Gordon D’Arcy (183) and Girvan Dempsey (175) in Leinster’s all time roll of honour.

Cullen leads the team and is one of five Ireland internationals named in the panel for the meeting of the league’s second and third placed teams. Isaac Boss links up with Ian McKinley at half-back with former St. Patrick’s Classical School Navan centre Eamonn Sheridan making his second senior appearance – and his first start for the province – alongside Eoin O’Malley.

Isa Nacewa, Andrew Conway and Niall Morris – a try-scorer in the 21-16 victory over Aironi last time out – make up the back three. Kevin McLaughlin starts in the back-row alongside Dominic Ryan and Rhys Ruddock.

Stan Wright is named in the panel amongst a strong replacements bench for the first time this season, with the bench also including Ireland international Eoin Reddan and Scotland’s Nathan Hines.

CARDIFF BLUES: 15: Dan Fish 14: Richard Mustoe 13: Gavin Evans 12: Dafydd Hewitt 11: Tom James 10: Ceri Sweeney 9: Tom Slater; 1: John Yap, 2: Gareth Williams, 3: Fau Filise, 4: Deiniol Jones, 5: Paul Tito CAPTAIN, 6: Andries Pretorius, 7: Martyn Williams, 8: Xavier Rush

REPLACEMENTS: 16: Rhys Williams, 17: Sam Hobbs, 18: Scott Andrews, 19: Ben White, 20: Ma’ama Molitika, 21: Rhys Downes, 22: Dan Parks, 23: James Loxton


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Andrew Conway
13: Eoin O’Malley
12: Eamonn Sheridan
11: Niall Morris
10: Ian McKinley
9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Clint Newland
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Dominic Ryan
8: Rhys Ruddock


16: Jason Harris-Wright
17: Jack McGrath
18: Stan Wright
19: Nathan Hines
20: Stephen Keogh
21: Eoin Reddan
22: Ian Madigan
23: Michael Keating

REFEREE: Carlo Damasco (FIR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: James Jones, Phil Connett (both WRU), TMO: Tony Rowlands (WRU)