The Leinster team to face the Newport Gwent Dragons in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash in Rodney Parade (KO: 7.05pm) has been named…

The Leinster management have selected an exciting line up for the trip to Newport in a match which will see Springbok international Zane Kirchner make his first start for the province after coming on as a replacement in the win over Connacht last weekend.

Kirchner is named to start at full back in a back three which includes the fit again Lote Tuqiri and St. Mary’s College captain Darragh Fanning. Luke Fitzgerald, one of four Ireland internationals in the starting line-up, continues his midfield partnership with Noel Reid while there are recalls for Jimmy Gopperth and scrum-half John Cooney, who makes his 24th appearance for the province.

Shane Jennings leads the team and the experienced back-rower is named in the back-row alongside Rhys Ruddock and Dominic Ryan, who is set to appear in Leinster colours for the 51st time. Michael Bent switches to loose-head in a front row which also includes Aaron Dundon and Martin Moore who trained with the Ireland squad earlier this week.

The replacements bench includes seven players who have either graduated or are current products of the Leinster Academy including Wexford born tight-head prop Tadhg Furlong who is another product of the Leinster Youths system to progress through the ranks in recent years.

UK & Ireland – Live on RTE2 and BBC 2 Wales from 7.05pm Friday
USA – Live on Fox Soccer Plus from 3.05pm pm ET Friday
Australia – Live on Setanta Plus from 6.05am EDT Saturday (Delayed on TV from 1.10pm EDT)
Asia – Delayed on Setanta Asia from 5.45am HKT Saturday
New Zealand – Delayed on The Rugby Channel from 1pm Saturday
Middle East/Canada/Japan/Africa – No coverage
Radio – Live on BBC Radio Wales

Our bases in London (Philomena’s of Covent Garden), NYC (Madhatter Saloon) and Dubai (McGettigans) will all be showing the game LIVE.

See our Blue Planet guide for rugby friendly venues in over 50 cities around the world.

DRAGONS: Hallam Amos, Tom Prydie, Pat Leach, Ross Wardle, Adam Hughes, Jason Tovey, Richie Rees; Owen Evans, Sam Parry, Dan Way, Adam Jones, Matthew Screech, Jevon Groves, Lewis Evans CAPTAIN, Netani Talei

REPLACEMENTS: Hugh Gustafson, Nathan Williams, Francisco Chaparro, Rob Sidoli, Ieuan Jones, Jonathan Evans, Kris Burton, Dan Evans


15: Zane Kirchner
14: Darragh Fanning
13: Luke Fitzgerald
12: Noel Reid
11: Lote Tuqiri
10: Jimmy Gopperth
9: John Cooney

1: Michael Bent
2: Aaron Dundon
3: Martin Moore
4: Quinn Roux
5: Tom Denton
6: Dominic Ryan
7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
8: Rhys Ruddock


16: James Tracy
17: Jack O’Connell
18: Tadhg Furlong
19: Ben Marshall
20: Leo Auva’a
21: Luke McGrath
22: Cathal Marsh
23: Brendan Macken

REFEREE: John Lacey (IRFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Ian Davies, Neil Hennessy (both WRU), TMO: Gareth Simmonds (WRU)