The Leinster Rugby team, proudly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to take on Emirates Lions in Round 17 of the BKT United Rugby Championship on Saturday afternoon, has been named by Leo Cullen (KO: 3pm Irish time – live on RTÉ2, Premier Sports and URC TV).

Rhys Ruddock captains the team in Johannesburg’s Emirates Airlines Park, with Leinster Academy fly-half Sam Prendergast set to make his Leinster debut.

Chris Cosgrave starts at full-back. On the wings, Dave Kearney is set to make his 150th league appearance, while there is a welcome return for Tommy O’Brien (pictured below), who makes his first appearance of the season after recovering from a knee injury.

In the centre, Liam Turner is joined by Ben Brownlee. Ireland Under-20 fly-half Prendergast makes his debut, with Nick McCarthy partnering him at scrum-half.

In the front row, Georgia international Vakhtang Abdaladze (pictured below) is set for his first Leinster start. He will pack down with Michael Milne and Lee Barron.

Brian Deeny joins South African international Jason Jenkins in the second row, with Ruddock, Will Connors and Max Deegan forming the back-row.

On the bench, five Academy players are set to feature with Alex Soroka, James Culhane, Ben Murphy, Charlie Tector and Rob Russell all looking to impress.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):
15. Chris Cosgrave (5)
14. Tommy O’Brien (21)
13. Liam Turner (16)
12. Ben Brownlee (2)
11. Dave Kearney (182)
10. Sam Prendergast (0)
9. Nick McCarthy (59)
1. Michael Milne (28)
2. Lee Barron (5)
3. Vakhtang Abdaladze (26)
4. Brian Deeny (11)
5. Jason Jenkins (14)
6. Rhys Ruddock (220) CAPTAIN
7. Will Connors (33)
8. Max Deegan (94)

16. Tadgh McElroy (2)
17. Ed Byrne (94)
18. Thomas Clarkson (24)
19. Alex Soroka (7)
20. James Culhane (1)
21. Ben Murphy (1)
22. Charlie Tector (5)
23. Rob Russell (16)

Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU)