John Burns (Community Rugby Development Officer) has introduced the game of rugby to 16 Primary schools in the Tullamore area during the 2009/10 season and was also involved in a further four secondary schools…

The workload John undertakes in this area greatly exceeds the hours that he is allocated and his enthusiasm is outstanding.

This scheme is co-funded by Leinster Rugby and Tullamore RFC and is an outstanding success. The feedback from the schools is very positive and more schools are interested for next season.

The schools involved this year were: Cappagh N.S., Durrow N.S., Kilbeggan N.S., Ballinagar N.S., Ballinamere N.S., Rahan N.S., Mucklagh N.S., Scoil Eoin Pol N.S. Tullamore, Gaelscoil Eiscir Riada Tulach Mhor, Scoil Bhride N.S. Tullamore, Clara Boys N.S., Gortnamona N.S., Daingean N.S., Rahugh N.S., Charleville N.S. and Educate Together N.S. Tullamore.

To finish the season John organised three Blitz tournaments in Tullamore R.F.C. grounds where all the boys and girls had games against other schools of equal ability. Thanks to referees Roy Mathews, Jim Mollohan, Enda Molloy and also the backup support of Pat Dunne and Chris Glennon.

The annual awards went to Gortnamona for Fair Play and to Ballinagar for Skills. The overall Tag Rugby Primary School of the season went to Clara Boys N.S.