Kilkenny Firsts steamrolled their way into the semi-final of the Provincial Towns Cup on Sunday last by annihilating their opposition, Newbridge…

Kilkenny 45

Newbridge 11

Despite taking an early lead, Newbridge had no other answer for Kilkenny which was down to the fact that Kilkenny simply denied them any scoring opportunities.

Kilkenny were like a tiger unleashed and Newbridge their prey for the entire eighty minutes. Kilkenny’s forwards dominated the scrums and lineouts which gave the backline the opportunity to do what they do best – run in tries. With weather conditions ideal for rugby, Kilkenny’s backline excelled with inside centre Darragh O’Brien shining the brightest.

The former Roscrea man performed his duties in exemplary fashion and took over the kicking duties and outhalf position for Willie Wright following his early retirement through injury. O’Brien also got his name on the try scorer’s table along with Podge Mahon and Killian Everard, (2 each), Sean Moran, (1). Wright and O’Brien added further penalties and conversions to make the final score 45-11 in Kilkenny’s favour.

Kilkenny now take on Wicklow in the semi-final on 30th March. This game will be played in Tullow at 3.00pm. Following the great turnout for Sundays game a huge crowd is expected to travel to support the team in their quest for cup glory.

Before the semi-final takes place both Kilkenny Seconds and Thirds will do battle for silverware with the Thirds fixed to play Clondalkin on Saturday in Foulkstown in the Leinster Metro League final. Kilkenny Thirds have done themselves and the club proud so far this season and it is very much hoped they will take the title in their first year playing in this competition. The Seconds welcome Gorey to Foulkstown on Sunday in their first game in the Towns Cup.

Kick off for both games is at 3.00pm.

Kilkenny Firsts: – Joey Manuel (C), Killian Everard, Sean Moran, Darragh O’Brien, Podge Mahon, Willie Wright, Robbie Walsh, David O’Connor, Wes Carter, Darragh Farragher, Victor Ryan, Darren Bawle, Martin Leahy, Wayne Kavanagh.
Subs: – Hugh O’Brien, Tom Massey, Ray Pembroke, Philly Walsh, Denis Hogan.

Clondalkin: – C. Jebb, B. Molloy, A. Dixon, A. Collier, N. Nolan, B. Foran, M. Russell, P. Nolan (C), N. Finlay, J. Dooley, S. King, R. Dever, C. Cullen, J. Kenny, M. Moynihan.
Subs: – C. Moloney, K. Kelly, D. Glennon, M. Molloy, D. Gaule.