The 49th Provincial Towns Plate Final featuring Ashbourne and Enniscorthy takes place on Wednesday, 11th May (KO: 8pm) at Naas Rugby Club…

Enniscorthy won the Towns Plate in 2005 (beating New Ross) and were beaten finalists in 2006 (to Roscrea) and in 1967 (to Navan).

In this year’s Towns Cup they lost to Portlaoise in Round 1 and in the Plate campaign have beaten Wexford Wanderers, Kilkenny and a semi final win over Gorey (43-12). Enniscorthy finished 2nd to Garda in the Leinster League Division 1B with 11 wins from 16 League games.

Ashbourne won the Towns Plate in 2001 (beating Roscrea) on their only appearance in the final. This season they defeated Naas in the Towns Cup (Round 1) and lost out to Cup finalists Tullamore in Round 2. Their Plate campaign has seen them defeat Arklow, Portlaoise (53 points to 5 points) and a semi final win over Cill Dara (50-12).

Ashbourne had an excellent Leinster League campaign and finished 2nd in Division 2 to Longford and recorded 14 victories from their 18 League fixtures.

The Provincial Towns Plate was presented by Sir William Butlin (Delvin Rugby Club) to the Leinster Branch in 1963 and the first winners were Navan.

Portlaoise top the table of winners with 5 victories followed by Co Carlow, Dundalk and Roscrea on 4 wins each.