Leinster booked an away quarter final place in the Heineken Cup with a gritty 12-3 victory over Edinburgh in the RDS on Sunday afternoon…Rob Kearney Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Heineken Man of the Match Rob Kearney said: “Nobody is more frustrated than the backline by the lack of tries, but we showed a lot of character out there again today. We have improved in certain areas, but we know we’ll have a lot of work to do.

“Regardless of who we will be coming up against, an away quarter final will be a huge test for us. No-one was too sure of the permutations going into the match, and it was a disappointment not to get a home quarter final for our supporters, but we’re still in the competition and we’re delighted about that.

“Wasps’ defeat today showed how strong Castres are and the thing about playing away is that you have to up your game. We will need to do that, but we’re pleased to be still in there fighting.”

All the points came in the first half with Felipe Contepomi landing four Leinster penalties and Chris Paterson replying for Edinburgh.

Brian O’Driscoll and Rob Kearney produced superb breaks but poor handling in desperate conditions which deteriorated during the first half virtually until the end of the game, prevented any Leinster tries.

Wasps’ defeat by Castres meant Leinster topped the table by three points.

LEINSTER SCORER: F. Contepomi (4 penalties)

EDINBURGH SCORER: C. Paterson (1 penalty)


15: Rob Kearney
14: Shane Horgan (Gordon D’Arcy, 53)
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Felipe Contepomi
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Isa Nacewa
9: Chris Whitaker CAPTAIN

1: Cian Healy (Ollie le Roux, 71)
2: Bernard Jackman (John Fogarty, 68)
3: Stan Wright
4: Trevor Hogan
5: Devin Toner
6: Rocky Elsom
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Stephen Keogh, Sean O’Brien, Chris Keane, Girvan Dempsey

EDINBURGH: Chris Paterson, Andrew Turnbull, John Houston, Nick De Luca, Simon Webster, David Blair, Greig Laidlaw, Kyle Traynor, Andrew Kelly, Geoff Cross, Craig Hamilton, Ben Gissing, Scott Newlands, Simon Cross, Allister Hogg CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS: Steve Lawrie, Gavin Kerr, Jim Hamilton, Alan MacDonald, Ben Meyer, Jim Thompson, Roland Reid

REFEREE: Chris White (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Roy Maybank (RFU), Stuart Terheege (RFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Peter Dennehy (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Barry O’Keeffe (ARLB), TMO: Geoff Warren