Leinster sealed their fifth victory in a row to round off an excellent October by defeating Edinburgh 19-18 in Saturday night’s Magners League clash at the RDS…Hines and Schmidt Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Leinster Coach Joe Schmidt said: “I’m really with that win and to go through October with five wins out of five is exactly what I would have wanted.

“Our game-plan tonight was to go out and attack but credit to Edinburgh. They’re a very good side who are very hard to stop.”

Nathan Hines added: “Edinburgh are a hard team to play against. They play a fast, wide game so considering that we were down a few bidues tonight, we’re pretty happy to get the win.

“We have a good squad that rotates from time to time, but credit to the young guys who are up to speed and (who) are taking their chances when they come along.”

Isa Nacewa, who put in another impressive performance, kicked the hosts into an early 3-0 lead after three minutes as Leinster edged the opening exchanges, but Tim Visser’s electrifying pace helped Edinburgh into the lead when he darted clear to score five minutes.

Nacewa then edged Leinster into a narrow 6-5 lead before Scotland international Chris Paterson made amends for his earlier missed conversion with a 23rd minute penalty.

A 26th minute penalty from Nacewa made it 9-8 to Leinster – a lead which they held on to at half time. With Andrew Conway and Eoin O’Malley catching the eye out wide and Ian Madigan displaying steady composure at half back with Paul O’Donohoe it was inevitable that Leinster would extend their lead.

And in the 46th minute Conway struck after a wonderful offload from Hines. Nacewa again slotted home the conversion to make it 16-8 for the hosts. But a Paterson penalty reduced the deficit and though Nacewa would strike again in the 51st minute, Paterson’s try seven minutes later, which he also converted, ensured a gripping finale.

But credit to Leinster who held on to seal a fine victory in front of a large vocal crowd of 16,786.

LEINSTER SCORERS: A. Conway (1 try), I. Nacewa (4 penalties, 1 conversion)

EDINBURGH SCORERS: C. Paterson (1 try, 2 penalties, 1 conversion), T. Visser (1 try)


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Eoin O’Malley
12: Fergus McFadden
11: Andrew Conway
10: Ian Madigan (Shaun Berne, 77)
9: Paul O’Donohoe (Isaac Boss, 53)

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Nathan Hines
6: Dominic Ryan
7: Shane Jennings
8: Stephen Keogh (Rhys Ruddock, 67)

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Jason Harris-Wright, Jack McGrath, Simon Shawe, Devin Toner, David Kearney


15: Chris Paterson
14: Jim Thompson
13: Alex Grove
12: John Houston
11: Tim Visser
10: Alex Blair
9: Mike Blair

1: Allan Jacobsen
2: Ross Ford
3: Geoff Cross
4: Scott MacLeod
5: Fraser McKenzie
6: Netani Talei
7: Ross Rennie
8: Roddy Grant CAPTAIN


16: Andrew Kelly
17: Kyle Traynor
18: David Young
19: Esteban Lozada
20: Scott Newlands
21: Greig Laidlaw
22: David Bishop
23: Mark Robertson

REFEREE: Carlo Damasco (FIR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Leo Colgan, Jude Quinn (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Dudley Phillips (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Glenn Sheridan (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Dermot Moloney (IRFU)