Leinster continued their run of recent good Magners League form with a gritty 26-18 victory over Connacht at the RDS on Saturday evening…Michael Cheika and Rocky Elsom Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Leinster Coach Michael Cheika said: “I am pleased with the way in which we held our nerve because we lost our way a bit in the second half.

“It was a stop-start game with a lot of penalties, but I did think we played well in the first half. I thought we passed the ball better this week and we should have finished it at the end.”

Rocky Elsom added: “It was a good win. We probably could have gotten the fourth try at the end, but we’re very happy to have won because we kept at it.

"We always feel confident when we have the ball and you can see the huge amount of competition in the squad. Trevor Hogan and Cameron Jowitt came in and did very well and I felt our lineout worked very well today.” 

Leinster led 14-12 at half-time thanks to a Trevor Hogan try and three Felipe Contepomi penalties to four Ian Keatley penalties for the visitors.

Keatley added two more penalties after the break to put Connacht 18-14 ahead.

Rob Kearney and Luke Fitzgerald scored two tries and Contepomi a conversion to give the reigning champions victory.

LEINSTER SCORERS: T Hogan / R. Kearney / L. Fitzgerald (1 try each), F. Contepomi, 3 penalties, 1 conversion)

CONNACHT SCORERS: I. Keatley (6 penalties) 

15: Rob Kearney (Shane Horgan, 68)
14: Gordon D’Arcy
13: Luke Fitzgerald
12: Felipe Contepomi
11: Simon Keogh (Brian O’Driscoll, 55)
10: Isa Nacewa
9: Chris Whitaker CAPTAIN (Chris Keane, 78)

1: Ronan McCormack (Cian Healy, 51)
2: John Fogarty
3: Stan Wright
4: Trevor Hogan (Malcolm O’Kelly, 49)
5: Cameron Jowitt
6: Rocky Elsom
7: Shane Jennings
8: Stephen Keogh (Sean O’Brien, 60)


CONNACHT: T Nathan; F Carr, N Ta’auso, M Deane, L Bibo; I Keatley, F Murphy; J Lyne, A Flavin, R Morris; M Swift, A Farley; M McCarthy, J Muldoon CAPTAIN, C Rigney

REPLACEMENTS: S Cronin, R Loughney, A Browne, D Gannon, K Campbell, A Dunne, J Hearty

REFEREE: Peter Fitzgibbon (IRFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Colin Stanley (IRFU), David Wilkinson (IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Peter Dennehy (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Robbie O’Flynn (ARLB), TMO: Dermot Moloney (IRFU)