Leinster secured a vital last minute bonus point 27-10 victory over Brive in Saturday night’s Heineken Cup Pool 6 clash in the RDS…

Speaking after the game Heineken Man of the Match Jamie Heaslip said: "We didn’t finish off the breaks that came our way, but there was a real determination in our defence and overall we’re happy to get the bonus point (win).

"Brive kept coming at us in fairness to them, but we showed a lot of belief in the closing stages to get the extra point. We’re all excited about next week’s game. It’s going to be a huge game and it is important that we go up another level against London Irish."

The champions were awarded a penalty try on 26 minutes, with Jonathan Sexton adding a conversion and penalty to make it 10-0 to Leinster at half-time.

Isa Nacewa, Gordon D’Arcy and a last gasp effort Brian O’Driscoll try, with Retief Uys and Scott Spedding replying with tries for Brive, maintained Leinster’s strong push as the group stages draw to an exciting finale.

After a scoreless first quarter, Leinster were awarded a penalty try in the 26th minute, which Sexton converted.

Sexton and Shane Horgan then both went close to crossing the Brive line but were kept out by determined defence from the visitors.

They finally extended their lead when Nacewa finished off a fine move involving D’Arcy, O’Driscoll and Rob Kearney four minutes after the break to claim his first Heineken Cup try.

D’Arcy breached the Brive rearguard to set up a tense conclusion as Leinster chased the bonus point which finally came when a delightful inside pass from Horgan found the onrushing O’Driscoll who scored to send the 17,836 crowd into delirium.

Leinster’s final game is against London Irish at Twickenham next Saturday (KO: 6pm).

LEINSTER SCORERS: Penalty Try, Isa Nacewa, Gordon D’Arcy, Brian O’Driscoll (1 try each), Jonathan Sexton (1 penalty, 2 conversions)

BRIVE SCORERS: Retief Uys, Scott Spedding (1 try each)


15: Rob Kearney
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy (Shaun Berne, 75)
11: Isa Nacewa
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: John Fogarty
3: Stan Wright (CJ van der Linde, 55)
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Nathan Hines
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Shane Jennings (Sean O’Brien, 47)
8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Bernard Jackman, Mike Ross, Malcolm O’Kelly, Paul O’Donohoe, Girvan Dempsey

BRIVE: 15: Scott Spedding, 14: Nicolas Jeanjean, 13: Jamie Noon, 12: Lachlan Mackay, 11: Horacio Agulla, 10: Luciano Orquera, 9: Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 1: Pablo Henn, 2: Steve Thompson, 3: Pascal Idieder, 4: Retief Uys, 5: Damien Browne, 6: Alix Popham, 7: Fabien Domingo, 8: Antoine Claassen

REPLACEMENTS: 16: Guillaume Ribes, 17: Petrisor Toderasc, 18: Christian Short, 19: Simon Azoulai, 20: Shaun Perry, 21: Viliame Waqaseduadua, 22: Régis Bianco, 23: Pat Barnard

REFEREE: Andrew Small (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Dean Richards (RFU), Stuart Terheege (RFU), 4th OFFICIAL: John Montayne (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Wayne Sheridan (ARLB), TMO: Geoff Warren