Leinster got back to winning ways in the Magners League with a determined 29-13 victory over the Newport Gwent Dragons at a bitterly cold RDS on Saturday evening…Sean O’Brian Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Aer Arann Man of the Match Sean O’Brien said: “It was a good game. We know that as a group we have a lot of stuff to improve on, but we’re very happy to get the win.

“The onus was on everyone to pitch up and today was about putting in a big performance and it means that we can look forward to next week’s game with a bit more confidence.”

Leinster trailed by 10 points at one stage after an intercept try by Hoani MacDonald helped the Dragons take their early advantage with James Arlidge also landing two penalties.

Crucially, Sean O’Brien replied quickly with a Leinster try and cut the margin 13-10 at the interval.

After Jonathan Sexton levelled, Bernard Jackman’s try put Leinster ahead. Returning out-half David Holwell chipped in with a penalty in the second half and Rocky Elsom added an injury-time try to seal the win.

LEINSTER SCORERS: S. O’Brien / B. Jackman / R. Elsom (1 try each), F. McFadden (2 penalties), J. Sexton (1 penalty, 1 conversion), D. Holwell (1 penalty)

DRAGONS SCORERS: H. MacDonald (1 try), J. Alridge (2 penalties, 1 conversion)


15: Girvan Dempsey
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll (Gary Brown, 70)
12: Fergus McFadden
11: Simon Keogh
10: Jonathan Sexton  (David Holwell, 66)
9: Chris Whitaker CAPTAIN (Chris Keane, 66)

1: Cian Healy
2: Bernard Jackman
3: Stan Wright
4: Devin Toner (Trevor Hogan, 68)
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Rocky Elsom
7: Sean O’Brien
8: Stephen Keogh (Cameron Jowitt, 63)

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Brian Blaney, Jamie Hagan 


15: Phillip Dollman
14: Gareth Wyatt
13: Rory Sidey
12: Marc Stcherbina
11: Richard Fussell
10: James Arlidge
9: Wayne Evans

1: Adam Black
2: Tom Willis CAPTAIN
3: Gethin Robinson
4: Hoani Macdonald
5: Andrew Hall
6: Joe Bearman
7: Lewis Evans
8: Grant Webb


16: Steve Jones
17: Jamie Corsi
18: Jamie Ringer
19: Danny Lydiate
20: Ashley Smith
21: Shaun Connor
22: Rob Lewis

REFEREE: Andy Macpherson (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Michael Black (IRFU), Richard Kerr (IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Peter Dennehy (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Danny Wallace (ARLB), TMO: Peter Ferguson (IRFU)