Leinster completed their home fixtures for the season with a resounding 45-8 victory over the Scarlets in Friday night’s Magners League clash…Jonathan Sexton Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Leinster out-half Jonathan Sexton said: "We’re delighted with the performance. We spoke during the week about backing up what we did last weekend, and there’s no doubting that the Munster match was a huge occasion.

"We got back to things very quickly and managed to hit the ground running despite the short five day turnaround, so we’re pleased."

Full back Isa Nacewa played a prominent role in Leinster’s opening two tries when he first unselfishly put Luke Fitzgerald through for the first of his two tries on 16 minutes, and then five minutes later made a superb break to find the excellent Shane Horgan who touched down.

Jonathan Sexton added both conversions and added a third when the lively Fitzgerald rounded the Scarlets defence on the stroke of half-time.

Mark Jones had given the visitors a hint of a chance on the half hour mark, but it was one-way traffic after the interval with further scores coming from Brian O’Driscoll (46), Sexton who wonderfully broke away (54), Horgan (62) and substitute Girvan Dempsey (68).

LEINSTER SCORERS: L. Fitzgerald / S. Horgan (2 tries each), J.  Sexton (1 try, 5 conversions), B. O’Driscoll / G. Dempsey (1 try each)

SCARLETS SCORERS: M. Jones (1 try), D. Evans (1 penalty)


15: Isa Nacewa (Girvan Dempsey, 48)
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll (Fergus McFadden, 63)
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Chris Whitaker (Simon Keogh, 63)

1: Cian Healy (Ronan McCormack, 50)
2: Bernard Jackman (John Fogarty, 34-38 blood & 53) 
3: Stan Wright (Cian Healy, 72)
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN (Devin Toner, half-time)
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Sean O’Brien
7: Shane Jennings (Stephen Keogh, 54)
8: Jamie Heaslip


15: Daniel Evans
14: Mark Jones
13: Gavin Evans
12: Jon Davies
11: Lee Williams
10: Stephen Jones CAPTAIN
9: Martin Roberts

1: Iestyn Thomas
2: Matthew Rees
3: Phil John
4: Vernon Cooper
5: Dominic Day
6: Josh Turnbull
7: Johnathan Edwards
8: David Lyons


16: Deacon Manu
17: Ken Owens
18: Lou Reed
19: Rob McCusker
20: Gavin Cattle
21: Rhys Priestland
22: Rob Higgitt.

REFEREE: Neil Paterson (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: David Wilkinson (IRFU), Jonathan Peake (IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Kevin Beggs (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Sean Gallagher (ARLB) TMO: John Carvill (IRFU)