Leinster scored six tries, with Luke Fitzgerald chipping in with a hat-trick, as they defeated Edinburgh 52-6 in the RDS on Friday evening…

Speaking after the game, Luke Fitzgerald said: "We’re delighted with the game, particularly when you consider the calibre of opposition that we were up against. It’s nice to get three tries, but the most important thing was the win, which we’re delighted about getting."

Isa Nacewa added: "The RDS is an outstanding ground to play rugby. It’s a pleasure to play in front of such an enthusiastic crowd, so it was a really nice night. Everyone stepped their game up tonight which was important because Edinburgh are a quality side."

A hat-trick of tries by Ireland back Fitzgerald and further touchdowns by John Fogarty, Shane Jennings and Chris Keane helped the Irish province to a convincing win.

Fly-half Felipe Contepomi landed five conversions and four penalties to end with a personal tally of 22 points.

Edinburgh’s only points came from first-half penalties by Phil Godman and Chris Paterson as Leinster recorded their first win of the campaign. 

LEINSTER SCORERS: L. Fitzgerald (3 tries), J. Fogarty / S. Jennings / C. Keane (1 try each), F. Contepomi (4 penalties, 5 conversions)

EDINBURGH SCORERS: P. Godman / C. Paterson (1 penalty each)


15: Girvan Dempsey
14: Luke Fitzgerald
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Felipe Contepomi
11: Rob Kearney (Shane Horgan, half-time)
10: Jonathan Sexton (Isa Nacewa, 31)
9: Chris Whitaker CAPTAIN (Chris Keane, 65)

1: Ronan McCormack
2: Bernard Jackman (John Fogarty, 58)
3: Stan Wright (Cian Healy, 65)
4: Trevor Hogan (Devin Toner, 35)
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Cameron Jowitt
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip (Sean O’Brien, 69)

EDINBURGH: Hugo Southwell; Mark Robertson, Calum MacRae, Nick De Luca, Chris Paterson, Phil Godman, Mike Blair CAPTAIN; Allan Jacobsen, Ross Ford, Geoff Cross, Craig Hamilton, Ben Gissing, Matt Mustchin, Allister Hogg, Scott Newlands

REPLACEMENTS: Steve Lawrie, Gavin Kerr, Steve Turnbull, Andrew Kelly, Greig Laidlaw, David Blair, Andrew Turnbull

REFEREE: Tim Hayes (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: M Black (IRFU), J Peake (IRFU), TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Paul Haycock (ARLB), 5th OFFICIAL: Ed Kenny (ARLB)