Leinster booked their place in this year’s Heineken Cup final with an excellent 25-6 victory over reigning champions Munster at Croke Park on Saturday…Brian O’Driscoll & Michael Cheika Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game Heineken Man of the Match Brian O’Driscoll said: "I’ll accept this award on behalf of the pack who were immense throughout. Games are won and lost at the breakdown and we managed to get quick ball. All credit to the lads who put in a passionate performance."

Leinster Coach Michael Cheika added: "We weren’t given much of a chance and it is hard when you’re told that you’re not good enough, but I thought the players showed how much it means to them to play for Leinster. We were happy with how we took our opportunities and we’re delighted to be in the final."

Gordon D’Arcy’s first-half try after a superb Isa Nacewa break helped Leinster lead 11-6 at the interval. Felipe Contepomi, who suffered a knee injury, slotted home the sweetest of drop goals in the 15th minute to give Leinster the lead.

Luke Fitzgerald’s try increased the strangehold and Leinster’s supporters were in delirium in the 61st minute as O’Driscoll ran 70 metres to touch down under the posts after he had nipped in ahead of Paul O’Connell to intercept a looping O’Gara pass.

MUNSTER SCORERS: R. O’Gara (2 penalties)

LEINSTER SCORERS: G. D’Arcy / L. Fitzgerald / B. O’Driscoll (1 try each), J. Sexton (1 penalty, 2 conversions), F. Contepomi (1 drop goal)

MUNSTER: P Warwick, D Howlett, K Earls, L Mafi, I Dowling, R O’Gara, P Stringer; M Horan, J Flannery, J Hayes, D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell CAPTAIN, A Quinlan, D Wallace, D Leamy

REPLACEMENTS: D Fogarty, T Buckley, M O’Driscoll, N Ronan, M Prendergast, B Murphy, D Hurley


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll (Girvan Dempsey, 37-39 blood)
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald (Girvan Dempsey, 59)
10: Felipe Contepomi (Jonathan Sexton, 26)
9: Chris Whitaker

1: Cian Healy
2: Bernard Jackman (John Fogarty, 62)
3: Stan Wright
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN (Devin Toner, 80)
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Rocky Elsom
7: Shane Jennings (Ronan McCormack, 19-26) (Sean O’Brien, 73)
8: Jamie Heaslip


REFEREE: Nigel Owens (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Nigel Whitehouse (WRU), Hugh Watkins (WRU), 4th OFFICIAL: Wayne Barnes (RFU), 5th OFFICIAL: Colin Stanley (IRFU), TMO: Derek Bevan (WRU)