Leinster came from behind to seal a gritty 18-11 victory over the Ospreys in Friday evening’s Magners League clash at the Liberty Stadium…Jonathan Sexton Post Match Reaction…

Speaking after the game, Setanta Man of the Match Jonathan Sexton said: "It was a really tough game, we were probably defending for the majority of it.

"They’ve got some really big ball carriers and went through the phases, but we’d prepared all week for that.

"We manned up in the second half when we were up against it.

"It’s tough to come to Wales and get a result. It’s early season for the Ospreys, they’ve got a lot of players coming back and I’m sure they’ve got a strong side who will go well for the rest of the season."

Sexton traded penalties with his opposited number James Hook in a see-saw opening six minute period before a 15th minute effort from the St. Mary’s out-half edged the visitors into a 6-3 lead.

Leinster held the upper hand, but it was the Ospreys who swung the pendulum in their direction with a Jerry Collins try after a spell of pressure on 28 minutes.

Though the Ospreys were reduced to 13 men at the interval, they held on lead 8-6 at the interval.

As in the first half Sexton and Hook swapped penalties, but it was Leinster who built up a head of steam in the final quarter despite the Ospreys bringing on Mike Phillips, Shane Williams and Alun Wyn Jones.

A mistake by Williams allowed Leinster to get in an attacking position from where full-back Isa Nacewa was able to slot over a drop-goal on 67 minutes after a superb steal by sub Bernard Jackman who found Stan Wright who in turn ploughed up the Ospreys midfield. The ball eventually fell to Nacewa who pushed Leinster into a one-point lead.

Two further Sexton penalties on 75 and 80 minutes gave Leinster enough of a cushion to seal the win.

OSPREYS SCORERS: J. Collins (1 try), J. Hook (2 penalties)

LEINSTER SCORERS: J. Sexton (5 penalties), I. Nacewa (1 drop goal)


15: Lee Byrne
14: Tommy Bowe
13: Jonathan Spratt
12: Andrew Bishop
11: Nikki Walker
10: James Hook
9: Jamie Nutbrown

1: Duncan Jones
2: Huw Bennett
3: Craig Mitchell
4: Ian Gough
5: Jonathan Thomas
6: Jerry Collins
7: Marty Holah CAPTAIN
8: Tom Smith


16: Richard Hibbard
17: Paul James
18: Alun-Wyn Jones
19: Filo Tiatia
20: Mike Phillips
21: Dan Biggar
22: Shane Williams


15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Gordon D’Arcy
12: Shaun Berne
11: David Kearney (Fergus McFadden, 64)
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan (Chris Keane, 71)

1: Cian Healy
2: John Fogarty (Bernard Jackman, 62)
3: Stan Wright
4: Nathan Hines (Leo Cullen, 81)
5: Malcolm O’Kelly
6: Kevin McLaughlin (Stephen Keogh, 68)
7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
8: Sean O’Brien

REPLACEMENTS NOT USED: Ronan McCormack, Simon Keogh

REFEREE: Peter Allan (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Tim Hayes (WRU), Alan Jenkins (WRU), TMO: Tony Rowlands (WRU)